Service Work - Giving Back to Recover

in #palnet2 years ago

20220417_104101.jpg
Running the livestream for my Church...

Service!!!

When it comes to service work, the premise is to take the focus off yourself and to not be self-absorbed. For most addicts and alcoholics, this was one of the root problems they had. Just being selfish and only worried about themselves to the detriment of all others around them. When we get into recovery, it is important to find ways to give of ourselves to serve others. For me, this takes the form of serving in my church on the tech team. Sometimes, I run the sound board, or powerpoint. Today, I ran the livestream set up. I know it does not sound like much, but if you look at the people in the church enjoying the service, you can see that there is a need, especially with so many at home still worried about covid, or just not able to make it to service...

20220417_104054.jpg
Olivet Baptist Church

Filling a need...

For some, the idea of doing something for free is ridiculous, but for an addict or alcoholic, it can mean the difference between making it, and going back out to use. For me, it allows me to feel as if I am repairing some of the damage that I have caused in the community, even if indirectly. Getting outside of myself and helping others allows me to see that I am in fact, useful and able to help others. Like a lot of things in recovery, I do not know why it works, but it does. Are you doing any service work in your recovery today?

Something to think about...

Sort:  

Do you livestream to 3speak? If so, how, what is required?

Sat Nam
Atma

!PGM !PIZZA !LUV

No our church just streams to Facebook for the congregation to be able to watch who cannot make it in for whatever reason.

Sent 0.1 PGM/LVL/STARBITS tokens to @atma.love, @nobutsd1974

remaining commands 8

Buy and stake 10 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM per day,
100 PGM token to send 0.1 PGM three times per day
500 to send and receive 0.1 PGM five times per day
1000 to send and receive 0.1 PGM ten times per day

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

Create a HIVE account with PGM from our discord server, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@atma.love(2/15) tipped @nobutsd1974 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.