A COVID19 Paradox

in #paradox4 years ago

WARNING: In this post I will intentionally give bad medical advice. This is a post about logic and not science.

Most dilemma and conflicts can be turned into a paradox once you know how.

So, I decided to manufacture a corona related paradox.

It took me only a second to come up with with.

I asked the question: As a career minded person in forced lockdown, what is the best thing that I could be doing at this moment for my career.

I imagined my career. At some point the government will let people go back to work. When this happens there will be a flurry of job interviews followed by intensive work weeks in chaotic settings.

I would end up meeting a lot of people and it is highly likely that I will catch the bug and be forced to self quarantine for two weeks.

There is a huge chance that will end up spending two of the most important weeks in my career in lock down.

So, the most important thing that I could do for my career is to expose myself to the bug right now. That way I will get sick now and have a leg up on my competitors who didn't get sick and who are still social distancing and reducing contacts.

So, we now have a paradox. The best thing I can do for my well being during the lock down‐which is supposed to protect me from a disease‐is to catch that very disease.

A general form of the paradox might be. The best way to handle a danger is to face the danger.

I do not recommend running out and catching COVID19.

For that matter, I do not like paradoxes.

This post is part of series that on paradoxes. One can usually word all dilemmas and conflicts as paradoxes.

In classical logic people were trained to de-emphasize paradoxes. Paradoxes show that our ability to reason is limited.

When one encounters paradoxes and contradictions we should go back to the foundational premises and rethink the situation.

Modern thinkers relish in paradoxes. In Hegelian, people are trained to hold paradoxes at the foundation of their system of reasoning and conflicts at the surface.

Unfortunately, this method of thinking leads people into binds which prevent them from being able to act.

Public policy makers have talked themselves into binds over the pandemic. They closed numerous businesses that should not have been closed. They forced people into sedentary situations that are weakening their collective immune system. Because they approached the pandemic with a logic rife with paradoxes, they are unable to figure out how to recover from the policies that they enacted.

The big hope is that a large pharmaceutical company will develop a safe vaccine for COVID19.

A vaccine is controlled exposure to an illness.

My personal opinion is that the best thing that individuals can do during the lockdown is to work on their immune system. That getting out in the sun. Changing one's diet and taking long walks for exercise.

#h3 As for the Picture

Coming up with a paradox was easy. I decided I would draw a picture of a coronavirus. I would then use the paradox drawing style to fill the picture which shapes.

I had just purchased some white India Ink. I decided to make the tips of the spikes on the virus white.

I used my glass dip pen.

Glass dipped pens don't work well for paradox drawings. The problem is that each time the lines touch eachother, the ink cascades from the pen and creates a splotch. This ruins the paradox effect.

I did not have much luck drawing in my attempts to draw white splotches on the virus.

covid.jpg