Jesselton Cabin

in #partiko5 years ago

(The photo above courtesy of HotelsKotaKinabalu.com. I arrived late night so couldn't take a clearer photo outside)

I continue my backpacker journey with yet another famous hostel well mentioned in all travel recommendation and it happen to be run by my fellow AIA friend from KL branch, Marcus! (Hi Marcus!) It was right next to UOB Bank in Gaya Street and right on top of my favorite Bak Kut Teh house, Yu Yee. This time, the stair doesn't have any urine smell. Lol. Probably because it was right next to a coffee shop.

I was so glad to see Marcus upon arrival. I remember I first knew him from our AIA Elite Convention and he was one of the Sabahan that was attached with KL Branch. He did mention he came back several times to Sabah to check on his backpacker business, of which I totally forgot to contact him while I began my backpacker's review. That night I was super late because I am doing my laundry late and called a number which I didn't know was him. When I arrived, indeed it was him.

Of course, being famous as it was acclaimed, the place was almost full. Air conditioned room with bed bunks and single beds. I was hoping to get a single bed but unfortunately my booking were bed bunks. Being placed on top of bed bunk wasn't my favourite, I told the friendly staff, L, I said I will cause the bed to collapse as I was heavy (that's what I think), but he being so nice and sweet he said he will carry me up if I wanted to 😆

That's my bed on top. It was shaky and has this squeaky sound as I climbed on top. Probably me being heavy, so I can't complain. Oh you probably wondering why there are teddy bears there and some other stuff pilling, well apparently 3 of the girls staying were monthly tenants. I manage to talk to 2 of them, they are working nearby and came from the North, had been staying there for more than 3 months.

Shower and toilet outside were basic but clean. In between there was a seating area which the staff use to entertain the guest by playing guitar and singing. I get the chance to hear Marcus sing!

Morning breakfast was just like other backpackers. I get to talk to other guest while breakfast and one of them was a young researcher guy from Kyoto, Japan. Wish I could talk to more but due to me being rush to work I had to leave early.

For those who drive, be sure to place a parking ticket in advance for parking in Kota Kinabalu city or else you will get a summon just like me. I totally forgot about it and overstayed until almost 9 am. 😭

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and I do recommend this place. Be sure to check for offers on Booking.com (no I'm not unde sponsorship) or other travel apps.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 2.27% upvote from us for your 237 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!