A trip into my dusty PC. Finally got an SSD! :)

in #pc6 years ago

So I finally decided it is time to stop being lazy and get an SSD.. open my PC and take a day to set it up and throw my windows on it.. It's been a year since I started procrastinating and since Friday is the new Path of Exile league start, I wanted the little quality of life that the SSD gives to gaming. 

Since I still don't have a steady job I went for a fairly cheap option for this.. I have no idea why I was left with the impression that the SSD costs three times more than it does and it got me pretty surprised when I went on amazon to check the price up. For only £35 I got this SanDisk 120GB SSD and it arrived on the very next day. 

Excited about it I opened my computer and was blown by the amount of dust that was there.. Had to clean that a long time ago! Don't be like me and clean your computers regularly.. My filters around the box are all very hidden and I don't usually see much dust through the window on the side of the box.. when I opened it up though it was a totally different story.. 

Now I cleaned it up and it was time to attach the SSD to one of the two slots that my tower box had and there I was presented with my first problem.. I had no spare screws.. So I rushed to our local hardware store only to find they don't sell that size either. Good thing I have Prime on my Amazon and the screws arrived on the next day.

I needed 4 screws for the attachment part but the smallest pack I could buy had 50 in it. I guess I'll never run out of spares again!

After I rummaged through the spare cables around the machine I found the one connection to the power supply and the other to the motherboard. (Was lucky I had the spare cables for the motherboard in the box.. couldn't bare ordering that and having to take apart my PC for the third time this week.) So this is how it looks inside of the box in the SSD slot.


Finally I had to make my PC recognise it and set it as a drive. Going to clone my windows using Macrum Reflect next and move it to my SSD drive so I can boot my computer through it. 

Have you ever installed your own Hardware on your PC? Or maybe built your own computer? I build my first PC almost two years ago and find it quite interesting and exciting! Now I'm ready for some more gaming!


Sort:  

It's not that long left to wait... A couple more days, I can do it.
It just took you one day to put ssd there.

Soon, very soon. I will unleash an infinite number of questions about Poe (Evil laughter). If my PC will actually work, I'm not sure yet :D

Haha well I'll prepare with instant youtube guide replies then.. :D

Със здраве да го ползваш.

Благодаря! :)

It actually looks pretty clean in there George. I've seen some nasty guts since I'm the one they come to for PC problems. I don't know why I thought you had a Mac, you seem like the creative type. I think I'll add you to my SV, to show my support. :)

Never really had a Mac, even though I know it is the best for creative work. These photos are taken mostly after I cleaned a bit, but fortunately most of the dust’s been stopped from getting into the actual system. :)

Your system looks pretty sleek and, actually, pretty clean! The SSD should be a nice upgrade. I'd like to have one for photography but, alas, laptops aren't as easily modified.

Dusty, you say...

My first year as an undergraduate in Wisconsin, I helped a friend get his system running. It turns out, there was so much dust inside the fans couldn't even turn! He grew up on a potato farm. I ran a vacuum while using compressed air to clean it out. Despite these measures, his dorm room looked like we were running a fog machine, by the time we finished.

Haha I am aware there are a lot worse than mine! Glad I didn’t leave it for too long wothout care

Maybe if you search a little longer you will find more surprises :D

Great that you're upgrading to SSD! It makes a huge difference. I've been using SSD for a few years now. I install my OS and my primary games on the SSD (like starcraft2). Also your PC isn't that dusty haha

It isn't cause I was ashamed to take photos of the filters behind the fans.. :D

This post has received a 3.70 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @george-topalov.

Looking a bit, we can get very good offers, how lucky you are, I have never armed one, but soon I will do it to get a better game processor and many other things.

Looking a bit, we can get very good offers, how lucky you are, I have never armed one, but soon I will do it to get a better game processor and many other things.

Looking a bit, we can get very good offers and be lucky to find very good things, I never put together one, but soon I will do it to get a better processor and many other things. the problem is the cost of the pieces that are a bit high here

Looking a bit, we can get very good offers and be lucky to find very good things, I never put together one, but soon I will do it to get a better processor and many other things. the problem is the cost of the pieces that are a bit high here