Finding out what to post or Do you like Pen&Paper RPGs?

in #penandpaper6 years ago

rpg_game_play_dice_dungeons_dragons_die_number931356.jpgWhat am I doing here?

Or maybe "What should I do here?" I asked that myself after I created my account on Steemit. I posted some foodstuff because I love food and I love to try out new things to eat - but posting it felt kind of weird. I love to talk with people about it and how it tasted but at the same time taking nice pictures to post it well that is not something for me. And because of that I stopped posting.

So I didn't post anything, just read blogs of other steemians, wrote some comments from time to time and bought some steemmonster cards (I love them haha).
And this week I got an idea for what I could write about and it's also something that I love to do: writing stuff for my pen&paper rpg group - and now I am asking myself why it took so long to get this idea ...

I love these old school role playing games where people slip into the roles of heroes, villains or just normal people and experience wonderful stories and wondrous landscapes just with your imagination (ok and with some paper, dices and hopefully other ppl ;-).
If you have never heard of pen and paper roleplaying games like dungeons and dragons then you definitely have never watched stranger things so you better start watching it because it's awesome.

Ok back to the p&p rpgs. If you have no idea what it is: in short it's a game where people slip into the roles of other characters (everything is possible, from superheroes to animals) and experience thrilling and funny stories told by another person the so called gamemaster. And mostly if a character wants to accomplish something like lockpicking a door or attacking an enemy there are rules what he has to do so that his action succeeds - like in many computer games where the game checks if the action is a success or a failure, but here the players have to do it with a set of rules and a bag of dice.
For each character there is a sheet of paper with all relevant character stats on it. In later posts I will write a bit about different roleplay systems, how to create a character and some pros and cons of the different systems.

What I like the most about pen&paper rpgs - you can do whatever you like. You aren't on a railway from the beginning to the end of an adventure like in many video games. If you don't want to fight against the evil wizard who is terrorizing the village and instead you want to team up with him to take over the entire land then you can do so. If it works out like you want it is another question but if the gamemaster plays along you can do that.
Well and it's a hell lot of fun to fight with you pals against some monsters and get nice loot which gives your character a level up =)

So with my next post I will start to write about different pen&paper games which I already played or want to play in the future and my plans for my current pen&paper group where I am the gamemaster.

Have you experienced something like that too, that you didn't know what to post that also suits you?
And do you also play pen&paper rpgs?

Image source

Found this pic here https://pxhere.com/en/photo/931356

Sort:  

Those sound like awesome posts. I used to help run a youtube pen and paper RPG show called "Society of Part Time Adventures" and I'm currently in a group that meets every other Friday.

I'm also relaunching a project made for the show called WayFinder (the name will probably change) which aims to be a hybrid mobile / table top RPG. But, its primary focus is on getting GMs that write custom campaigns a platform to share and monetize.

Anyway count me as one of your followers. :)

Thank you.
Uh I can't wait to take a look at your new project so you are followed back xD

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @dera123!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 0.608 which ranks you at #66357 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 24 places in the last three days (old rank 66333).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #487.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @dera123! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!