A few photos of Arlo. A Yellow Tabby cat.

in #pets2 years ago

PXL_20220106_071224865.jpg

This is Arlo and he actually makes frequent surprise appearances in many of my videos, but only for a few seconds so it's easy to miss him if you're not paying attention.

PXL_20220106_071317745.jpg

PXL_20220106_071327651.jpg

Sort:  

Arlo is a handsome boy. Looks like one of his ears got clipped. Is there a story to that? Did you get him when he was a kitten?

He is handsome isn't he!?
I did get him as a kitten, and he was actually a feral kitten.
The woman I was dating at the time lived in Baltimore City, and underneath the deck of the house to the right of her she found a litter of kittens. There are cats EVERYWHERE in that neighborhood. So she kit-napped him and he was probably about 3-5 weeks so we had to dropper-feed him.
And regarding his ear: There is a city program that would take all of the feral cats and fix them, and clip their ear to note that they had been fixed.
She talked to one of the employees, and told him she had taken in Arlo. He offered to take Arlo and fix him free of charge and she let him. So they clipped his ear like they would any other feral cat. I was so angry at the time. She's since long gone back to California from whence she came, and Arlo stayed with me :)

My husband and I have 4 cats right. In the 10 years that we have lived in the country, we have had one dog and several cats dropped off on our property (we kinda live out in the boonies so it isn't just a jump off the interstate kind of dumping that is going on). Unfortunately, I couldn't save them all since several were just too sketched out for me to feed and keep them. We have coyotes out here and have lost animals to them in the past.
Luckily we haven't have any animals dropped off in a few years for us to adopt. I do wonder if it will happen again and more frequently as the economy tanks. Maybe not.
Anyway, Arlo is lucky to have you.