Water Jars Made of Clay

in #philippines4 years ago

Hello everyone,

For generation Jars is use in our country and I assume also widely use in India.
banga clay jars.jpg
In the Philippines, we called this BANGA OR TAPAYAN

But, have you ever touch a clay mud? I did.
I think when I was young I do play mud.
For many years, clay mud is use with a lot of products.
From flower pots to cooking tools and drinking jars.
There are so many usage of clay mud as some cosmetics company use clay mud as part of the beauty or skin care regime.

In the Philippines, there are source of clay in Digos and Cagayan de Oro City. These Cities are part of Mindanao.

I went to Digos here in Davao to buy banga. this is a jars that we can stored water. Why I want to have this water Jars?
I read about the good benefits of having this #banga or some people called it #tepayan or #tapayan good for the body:

  1. Naturally Cool the Water

  2. Porous -
    This process causes cooling as water particles gain energy in the form of heat, then change to gas and get mixed with air. A clay pot has small holes visible at the microscopic level through which water seeps out and gains energy to become gas and gets evaporated causing cooling. Heat and moisture circulate throughout the pot, quite opposite to the metal or enamel-lined crockery that we use today. Some pots are made of a special type of clay containing speckles of mica, colloquially known as ‘micaceous’ clay. Mica is a natural insulator.

  3. Alkaline
    The alkaline clay interacts with the acidity of water and provides the proper pH balance. This water can help curb acidity and in turn provides relief from gastronomic pains. This nature of clay is quite useful and is one of the few well-documented benefits of drinking water from an earthen pot. When acidic food like meat or milk is cooked in an earthen pot, the clay helps to neutralize the overly acidic qualities of food

  4. Improves Metabolism And Virility
    drinking water from a clay pot can help improve metabolism without dangerous chemicals like BPA added to the fray. Drinking water from a clay pot can also help maintain a level of testosterone in your body, as opposed to plastic, which in turn reduces the amount of testosterone in our body. Clay water tastes natural, pleasantly chilled and also helps improve metabolism and virility.

  5. Gentle On The Throat
    The water coming our from our fridge may cause irritation to our throat. Specially this time of pandemic, we need to drink loads of water. Drinking from a that just keep in plastic may cause harm to our body as we all knew plastic has some chemical reaction when the bottle is not stored properly.

I found the place KAANGAN DI DAYANG in Digos, The owner was nice enough to let me try how to make clay pots.
I have this video to share..


I had great time doing it. It was really my first time. Infact, I brought the raw pot with me including the base moulds.