You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Answer is Always the Same: Personal Responsibility

in #philosophy4 years ago

Have you read his My Big TOE series? I listened to it twice and find his arguments compelling. "Evolution" of consciousness is clearly not exactly analogous to physical matter evolution, but the similarities are strong enough to make it useful within the framework he outlines, IMO. When I look into things like the quantum entangled delayed double split experiment, I have to step back from hard materialistic determinism (though I am a fan) and consider other possible explanations.

Sort:  

I'm familiar with his oeuvre and find it an attempt at exploring metaphysical ideas that he then wrongfully turns into a grand religious narrative.
Read Wilber's Quantum Questions if you haven't already and no quantum physicist who understands it well ( I certainly don"t ) don't subscribe to grand religious narratives about it.
Musing playfully on ideas is certainly something I'm in total favor of but Tom crossed the line into religion and that is simply not justified.

I listened to his book twice, and it's not religion.

You might not be aware of the online cult following that is now springing up around his theories.

I have nothing to do with an online cult following or with religion.

I didn't think you did for one minute. But what I said about what's developing around Tom's theories is happening. That might not be his fault.
The same thing happened with Wilber's TOE in that it became cultishly religious...
Please understand that I'm not being antagonistic to you...I hope it doesn't come across that way. I like some of Tom's ideas. But it doesn't go much further than that for me.
Please keep in mind that I'm an old geezer luddite, too. So my perspective on things might be different than yours.