Existence is Magic

in #philosophy3 years ago

Did you ever have the experience of lying in bed thinking about the absurdity of our society caring about drama, gossip & politics while your own (and everyone else's) life is magic, a gift and death is the ultimate & guaranteed end?


image.png


The absurdity in which our society generalizes the wonder of existence and enforces the daily routine of working ~8 hours a day, eating and floating into entertainment/fun just to resume the same procedure the next day. As if this were to go on forever.

Thinking about the reality of death feels like the inside of a book trying to catch a glimpse of its own cover. Not in the way of repeating a quote. Realizing truthfully and honestly that our human existence (what we call I) will ultimately come to an end sometime in the future.

There are different ways to deal with death of course. Alan Watts's philosophy is quite remarkable.

I guess it also depends on the persons' faith & religion.

What I want to highlight within this post though is my own current view in regards to how everything becomes so much more real within the context of how life is like a drop falling from a cloud to the surface - the way down is life.

Our society, similar to the Matrix in "The Matrix", is creating the repetitive belief that our life is nothing special (possibly because it's easier for humans to deal with reality by not dealing with it) while the complete opposite is true. Existence is magic. Real magic.

And I, for one, want to live my life consciously/aware, with this thought in mind; fulfilling my potential - in life, professionally & spirituality. I'm not sure where the road will lead, but my gut tells me that things will ultimately make sense; even if they don't at the moment.

Over the last few days, ruminating about death, I also had to think of my grandmother who passed away last year.

How grateful I am for her and her positive impact in my life and also my ancestors, many of whom I sadly never got to know and whose stories faded into the shadows but whose gifts were forwarded and are living on.

I'm grateful.

Sort:  

I recently wrote a poem that I want to share, I'm even humming it so I can make it a song soon it's called for you, and it's basically that we weave the world we perceive around us, everything is filtered through our being, what we live, so in a world the universe we see is "us" seeing it.
I confess I'm not religious, but I've been close to... well, stop existing a few times... this led me very traumatized and I realized all of a sudden I was actually terrified to die... those moments I thought, ok, this is it, you're not gonna make it, offered no comfort, just dreading to cease to exist... so now I envy people with faith. I'm spiritual but not religious but now I'm more open minded, maybe as protection from that moment. It's difficult to explain and also way too personal on a public post like this. So now I tend to think... right now, in this space and time I'm alive, this is my "NOW" my present moment to which I anchor... and now I'm alive... and always a million years from now, in this space and time I'll be alive. The same way my dog is still alive running among the dandelions in 1994 and my fufunchis are doing mischief some years ago... Everything stays "where it belongs to" Ok I got too metaphysical now... and sorry for your nana

Alan Watts is amazing and even better with Lofi music!

Akira The Don on spotify make stuff like this with all kind of people! Its quite amazing to listen too.

I am constantly going from thinking "I want to be rich, that would be amazing" to "whats the point of becoming rich, wouldn't rather be happy?"

I do not want to be rich, but neither poor, which I currently am. Because of financial discrimination. The government of Hungary does not care about people with multiple disabilities. My pension-like income is approximately $250 USD, while the minimum wage is approximately $550 USD. And the governent is pumping millions of football. But for what? The Hungarian football is shit. They lost even against Andorra.

I understand the need to be comfortable that was my goal in the beginning aswell.
But more wants more and when does it end? I dont want to chase money forever x)

I understand the need to be comfortable

Just simply more than survival. This is not a life, but a struggle.
Nowadays I often need to choose between paying bills/rent or buying food.

And Hive do not help. Most of my posts/comments are earning cents.

I dont want to chase money forever x)

Me neither. But I do not want to starve either.

Nowadays I often need to choose between paying bills/rent or buying food.

I have never been in a position like that, so it can be hard to imagine.

You must have some sort of plan?

Me neither. But I do not want to starve either.

No that would be terrible

I live with multiple disabilities, and besides my pension-like income, nowadays I also work in a 4 hours part time job. And with all of this, I am in the above mentioned situation. I currently cannot have any other plan than to try to survive.

Sometimes I feel that the government is intentionally doing this to make the people with multiple disabilities "disappear" (die), instead of helping them. This is a cruel way of "solving" a problem. And people usually do not talk about this. Probably because they fear the government.

I was homeless in the past multiple times (even as a child). I am prepared to be homeless again. No one does anything against this tyrant, dictator government.

Jeez christ. Sounds horrible oO

I dont even know about your goverment, its never in the media :/

Ya. Agreed! Trying not to waste each precious moment! Most people here are driven by fear of death from COVID that they lost their common sense. Rain or shine, we ought to be mindful and live each day with awareness.

A pensive, philosopphical momet? 😊

If more people think about life the way you do, the world would be a better place. 😊

Yes I have thought about it, how can we waste time worrying and mortifying ourselves when there are things that we simply have no control over, we do our part which is to work and never give up in the face of adversity but there are times that if something is not given it is not and ready we must accept it and be thankful for everything.

It's very easy to fall into a set of habits and basically just sail through life, unaware really of the passing of time. On the one hand, this is easy, so it takes less energy. On the other, experiencing new things boosts your energy, so an aspiration to live life to its fullest is a great thing. Don't lose that.

For me, I'm also not sure where life will take me. I would like to enjoy the beauty of nature as much as I can, but I also want to be mentally challenged. I haven't found the right career for that yet and right now, I'm just recovering energy to be ready for a new challenge when it presents itself. I have learned that it's okay to quit and I should really think about it more often. Quit whatever is draining your energy, unless it's worth it and will lead to something valuable in the end.

(Google translator)
Hi @therealwolf.
Your words made me remember what a biblical character said
Man, born of woman, Is short-lived and filled with trouble.He comes up like a blossom and then withers away; He flees like a shadow and disappears.[...]For there is hope even for a tree.
If it is cut down, it will sprout again,
And its twigs will continue to grow.
If its root grows old in the ground
And its stump dies in the soil,
At the scent of water it will sprout; And it will produce branches like a new plant.
But a man dies and lies powerless;
When a human expires, where is he?

(Spanish)
Es verdad lo que dices. Cuando estamos tan cerca de la muerte nos vienen a la mente muchas cosas en la que pensar de la vida y lo que haremos y de lo que hemos hecho.
Tu post me hizo recordar lo que dijo un personaje bíblico llamado job:
El hombre, nacido de mujer, tiene una vida corta y llena de problemas.Brota como una flor y luego se marchita; huye como una sombra y desaparece[...] Porque hasta para un árbol hay esperanza.
Aunque lo corten, brotará de nuevo
y sus ramitas no dejarán de crecer.
Si su raíz envejece en la tierra
y en el suelo muere su tocón,
al olor del agua brotará
y echará ramas como una nueva planta.
Pero el hombre muere y queda tendido sin poder hacer nada más;
cuando un ser humano da el último suspiro, ¿adónde va?

came across your post almost supernaturally hahaha, I have been thinking a lot about the subject of death. Because I've seen it in the face a couple of times, and that brought me to take an impressive fear of it.
And from so much inner philosophizing, I always come to the conclusion that many of us fear it, not because of the cliché fact of not knowing where we are going, but of dying without having done everything we felt we should do. Or simply die and be forgotten.

That's why, since then, as your grandmother did, I think the best thing is that people remember you for everything you left in them.

Love your post. Regards.