Lift from the ground - Light Painting

The first shot was what I wanted to get. The second shot is still extra cool - the others show you the process.

For the love of trees, I take these shots. When you introduce a human it makes your eyes draw attention in. The human gives it interaction and scale. Together both make it to most of the viewers the most interesting combination. This is what I wanted.

2017_10_14_26_namibia_958_lr_2.jpg
Like I said. Here is what was on my mind. If I can critique this image I wish I flashed when she was a little higher in the air or my camera was lower to make her appear higher. Also, I wished she could be a tiny bit larger - like in the third image. But for some reason, I did not manage to do it in the little time we had. Anyhow that's what it is. Like that?

  1. So she jumps and I flash her from the back, to emphasize the silhouette.
  2. Then shine some light on the dead tree and the living tree.
  3. then add some red and white from a low angle. Done ;-)

2017_10_14_26_namibia_955_lr_2.jpg
Here you see the first trial of the environment shot. Just testing how much time I need to light the tree and stomp. Also considering the stars to come out.
I was hoping there is some Milkyway. There wasn't and I guess that's not a thing you can change. Since I am not photoshopping it in you don't see it in my image ;-)

2017_10_14_26_namibia_951_lr_2.jpg
The third shot shows you pretty much where I wanted to go, yet there is not enough of a contrast with the silhouette and the environment. From the composition, I really really like this shot yet the stars shine through her. Which is still cool yet not exactly what I wanted.

2017_10_14_26_namibia_948_lr_2.jpg
This shot shows you part of the process. Here I shot too far to the right flashing straight into the camera. It still looks super cool.

So here you see much more of the process than I normally share. But that's for you to see that every image I share usually has a few in the progress before I publish one that I like. I hope it makes you understand and appreciate a tiny bit more what and how I work to get a single image.

I hope it was somewhat inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge. Hope you find your way back to my blog and return regularly.


Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

Since I am one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Thank you so much!

Sort:  

You are EXTRA COOL!!
!discovery 30


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program