Wonders of wildlife - aquarium and fish museum

in #photocircle6 years ago

IMG_20180615_150332Edit.jpg

Recently I was in Springfield Missouri visiting some friends. I took time to explore Springfield a little and one of the places I went was BassPro Shops Wonders of Wildlife museum and aquarium.



The wonders of wildlife museum is huge, I walked around for 3 hours and didn't see everything. I had started out in the aquarium part and was blown away by the size and detail that was put into it.



IMG_20180615_140120_001.jpg



Initially when I seen the first few fish tanks I moved on quickly, I know it sounds weird but I was more interested history that was displayed than I was the fish tanks. Things like Ernest Hemingway's boat and fishing hall of fame. Also I was trying to find things to take photos of other than just the fish.



I spent some time around the lit up walk ways trying to find interesting angles for photos. I know people were looking at me weird for standing around so long, taking photos of stairs. I do kind of wonder what was going through their mind, but nobody said anything.



IMG_20180615_141711Edit.jpg



IMG_20180615_1401592.jpg



IMG_20180615_140211Edit.jpg



IMG_20180615_140230.jpg



It wasn't until I got to the jelly fish tanks that I got interested in what was inside the tanks.

IMG_20180615_150304Edit.jpg


IMG_20180615_150318.jpg


I stayed in this area for a while it was a very popular spot. I would go up to the tanks and take some photos and watch the jelly fish, then I would move out of the way and let others have room at the tanks. I repeated this for a while.


IMG_20180615_150629.jpg

By the time I got through the aquarium I was worn out, thirsty, hungry, and ready to get out of there.

All in all I had a great time but I should've come at a different time of the year because the museum was packed with people. I also should have brought my dslr because the bigger sensor would have helped a lot. Next time I am in Springfield this will be a place that I want to go to again.

Sort:  

To shoot this with your dslr might give a different result, while using your smartphone actually made it more artistic. In my case, I feel that Im more creative at shooting with my phone, especially in lighting & composition. With these photos that you post, you did a brilliant job on it.

Thanks so much for the compliments buddy. Means a lot. And Thank You for the resteem.

I am sure if I would've had my dslr with me, I would have chosen different compositions. Not saying that it would have been better than these, just a different approach. Probably a little lazier with the focal length.

While I was in the dark areas I really wanted to raise the shutter speed, but couldn't keep the phone steady enough holding it freehand. Kept trying to steady it on rails and walls.

BTW, have you been on Discord today?

Wow, very awesome all of them 😊. You did great looking for some different spots… even including mickey mouse! 😁😁 First one is pretty nice, in some way makes me remember a watercolored drop and the stairs ones... wordless, incredible how they disappear into the dark.

haha, I hadn't thought of girl with the hair up as mickey mouse. But you are right that's what it looks like.
Thanks for the compliments buddy.

😂😂 hahah, very welcome 😊👍

very nice photos, because at an aquarium it is quite tricky with all the wierd lighting in the tanks and passages

Yes very tricky lighting, but loved the lit up walkways.

Thanks for the compliment!

you are most welcome, loved the photos

Neon!

Haha, yeah lots of blue!!!

Awesome pictures, ģreat colors!
Welcome!

Thanks :D

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-27T00:30:03
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 220.09/400.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 23
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank