Visiting the West of Ireland.

in #photofeed4 years ago

St Patrick, Beach8526.jpg

It was such a joy to get away from my home city and travel to the West of Ireland for a few days. Westport is a small little coastal town in Co. Mayo and is home to one of the most popular mountain pilgrimages, Croagh Patrick.

Top of the mountain8604.jpg

The climb to the summit is 2507ft and is not an easy one. The first 3 sections are steep but doable but the last section is a climb that even the most season climbers will find tough.

Top of the reek8605.jpg

I was super tired after getting to the top, but it was well worth it and to say I was sore the next day was an understatement!

Top of the reek8598.jpg

I'm hoping to get back here in August to climb it again and I will time myself up to the top and back, then keep it up and try to beat my time each time I visit.

I hope you enjoyed this post. It's been quite hard to stay consistent here on Hive but hoping to keep that consistency up going forward. :)

Sort:  

What a beautiful landscape! I hope I will be able to visit Ireland one day :)

!discovery 20

Thank you @delilhavores. It has such charm, although do some research before visiting. The weather can be brutal in the off-seasons.

Thanks for the tip! :)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

Lovely views of the region, especially from the top, so glad you made it all the way up to share here!

Thank you @joanstewart. Hopefully, I'll make it back in August to climb it again!

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Ice cream slayer 🍦 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Beautiful images Graeme, I still have hopes of visiting and traveling.
Perhaps I'll make to my ancestral homeland soon @g-race-c

Thank's Jerry, It really is a wonderful place. The emerald isle awaits your visit!

ha ha ha Yeah right, all the rest of the world that doesn't want Americans right now.
I'll get there as soon as I can Graeme, I hope to be able to meet you one day @g-race-c