Living room asparagus - Light Painting plants

in #photofeed3 years ago

What you can do at home when the weather is not to make you go outside.

In the process of recording a tutorial video for Learn Desk, I used this little living room asparagus as a model.

The tricky part here was that the model moves with the slidest wind. One would think that plants hold still. The branches are so slim and wave around when you pass by with the flashlight. The conclusion here is that a flash would probably be a better idea.
Here speed will actually work against you different to normal.

Settings

The Canon R5 camera was set to F16 ISO 100 at 35mm on the 16-35mm F2.8 Lens. The exposure time was only 10 seconds. Which is for many photographers here already a looooong exposure. For Light Painters, it is relatively short.

2021_10_02_lightpaint4beginners_2_lr_2k.jpg

As usual, I would explain how to do that basic ambient and/or environment lighting before adding any fancy effects.

2021_10_02_lightpaint4beginners_12_lr_2k.jpg

For the second image, I used a 35cm long plexiglass rod that was attached to a blinking flashlight, and of course, I shed first some light on the plant itself. Those who visit my blog on a regular basis will know that I work on the same principles: first basic light then adding effects. As I mentioned many times before.

That's what you see here. The two steps in the single exposure time of 12 seconds. The Canon R5 camera was set to F16 ISO 100 at 35mm on the 16-35mm F2.8 Lens.

Have a wonderful start to the week.

Got any questions?
I am super happy to explain it in more detail if needed.


Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

Since I am one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Thank you so much!

Sort:  

That's a great way to bring out the colours of the plant! I used to lightpaint statuettes and toys the same way. It really gives the subject a bang!

Thank you for your encouragement 🙏😎
I am super glad you like that simple example

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanx @ewkaw and the @qurator team. 👌

My pleasure :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.