Spin Shanghai 3 times - Camera Rotation

in #photofeed3 years ago

When you are at the Bund right by the Shanghai river, the skyscrapers become a light spectacle every night.

sha_91_lr_2.jpg

Usually, at 8 pm, the modern Shanghai Pudong side of the river lights up to attract tourists and photographers from all around the world.

When in Shanghai it was also on my list. Of course! In order to create something more out of the ordinary, I brought my camera rotation too. Some years ago I got there one of my most favorite continuous Camera Rotations ever.

(You can see that on my website.](https://gunnarheilmann.com/camera-rotation-light-painting/)

sha_84_lr_2.jpg

All of these images are a two-step camera rotation. First, you take a normal shot, having the horizon almost centered. In the second step, you'd rotate the camera 180° and repeat the procedure.
The beauty here is that the cityscape changes dramatically in the meantime. Boats pass and light beams come out of the buildings in different directions. That creates an interesting effect. The image will not look like a false reflection but triggers a second look. The viewer will be drawn more into the image and captured for more time to figure out what happened to that image.

sha_56_lr_2.jpg

The way I take photos I always try to create the images In-Camera. So what you see here actually involved me turning the camera 180° and not taking two images and stitch them together in Photoshop. That's the skill and technique that I love. It always holds space for the extraordinary and coincidental that makes the images original and special. That's what I am up for when I get out to get some special photos.

I hope it was informative and maybe also inspirational. If you have more questions please do not hesitate. I am happy to share my knowledge.


Gunnar Heilmann Photogrpahy

If you are interested in more of my art please also see:
Website YouTube Facebook Page Instagram Feed

Since I am one of the cofounders of the LightPainters project, I also help and support the Light Painting community as a curator - not only on the Hive.

We are Light Painters

To help and support the LightPainters community here on Hive I would appreciate your delegation of HivePower. Any amount is appreciated. It does not require much to get started, we are happy for any gesture.

How to delegate?
Delegate 50HivePower, [50HP]
Delegate 250HivePower, [250HP]
Delegate 500HivePower, [500HP]
All the Hive Power will help to upvote the artist's contribution as part of the LightPainters community.

Thank you so much!