You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plagiarism - Stolen Images - Using my work without my consent

in #photofeed2 years ago

I guess you're absolutely right about this cost vs. effort. Though I know about a case where a photographer I know sued a newspaper for EUR 1 (of course they had to pay all the court & attorney fees as well).
I had a case with an Indian customer who bought an editorial license for one of my photos but later used it commercially, I didn't follow through it as I didn't think I could do anything.

Sort:  

Yep ... Soooo many cases. Its nothing kids learn in school. You dont steal things. Images on the internet seem free to use. One guy used an image for an event and i literally answered that he dound the image on the interent. That was his excuse. He was raised that way. Education on the topic will take forever if no serious consequences are the result of theft.

Unfortunately true!
But then if anyone else copies his event announcement or the event idea he will most probably cry to the heavens, lol :)

In the last few decades several countries has changed their political and social systems/orders and I see that some had lived for years with the belief that "what is mine is mine, what is not mine belongs to everyone."

For example, I was consulting a small company, IT stuff, probably ten years ago and I noticed an intern who was removing Shutterstock logos from an image they downloaded. As I was selling licenses at that time I went and talked to the management just to find out, to my biggest possible surprise, that they needed Photoshop only for this. So imagine - a person, manhours + software. Instead of buying that image for few dollars and doing something meaningful!!!

OM fing good - that is so crazy. What's wrong with the people? If all would pay a small amount to the artist one may be able to live off the work. 😤

I ask myself that too, almost everyday.
I guess it's the mindset some folks have - whatever could easily be taken, have to be exploited.
Perhaps it is a decease, an illness that could hardly be cured.