Photographing Winter Wonderland

in #photofeed5 years ago

In recent weeks we had lots of snow here in Germany. A lot more than in the years past. So I decided to follow along with a plan I have had for some time now: Photographing the winterly landscapes on top of the Große Arber mountain.

I had already scouted the area a few weeks ago when we had the first snow. It already looked fantastic.

Iced trees on top of the Große Arber

But back then I didn't have snowshoes. This made getting to some areas very hard as the snow was more than knee deep. I knew that, if I got the chance to return, I wouldn't do so without the right equipment again.

So I did my research on snowshoes and found that the decision wasn't as easy as I had hoped. The price range goes from around 60 Euros to 400 Euros and I really had to think about the terrain I would use those shoes in - not only on the Große Arber but also in the coming years. The cheapest shoes where those with an aluminum frame and since I didn't want to spend too much money I first thought to buy those.

But such snowshoes are not made for walking in steep terrain, since they don't have any spikes on the sides. So traversing a steep slope as I would have to do at the Große Arber would have been tricky.

In the end I still bought a cheap snowshoe option made by Alpidex. Those are made of some sturdy plastic and they have sharp spikes all around.

And I don't regret the decision. This time I didn't have to worry about getting stuck in the snow and could walk around freely. This was a lot of fun and I was able to get to some areas where the trees were completely frozen.

Frozen Trees in a winterly landscape

During all of this the snowshoes held up nicely. What didn't work so well in the cold was my Gopro. I had brought two fully loaded batteries and after less than 20 minutes of filming those were already drained.

Fortunately I was able to warm them up during lunch and could later squeeze out some more video as I went down into the forest beneath the Große Arber. Down there it was a lot harder to find a good scene to photograph, but eventually I was successful as you can see in the video below.

I hope that the photos and the video motivate you to get out and explore, even if it's cold and grey outside. That's just the right time to take some different photos, which every portfolio also needs. And as always, be mindful of the nature around you and leave only footprints.

Michael Breitung Photography

Sort:  

The amount of snow right now in your area is crazy! Everywhere the most amazing winter landscape photos are showing up. Stay safe though!!

The funny thing is, where I live we have no snow at all. I have to drive 200+ km but there it's then plenty... even too much in parts

Gracias por compartir este hermoso trabajo, tu video me gustó mucho, como explicas todo en una forma clara y fácil de entender, es un video muy profesional ¿Trabajas con videos? Nunca he caminado con tanta nieve y tanto viento, en mi país solo hay un estado donde cae la nieve, me gusta más la arenita playita, tenemos muchas playas. ¡Te felicito por tu voto curie! Cariños y besos.

Hola Celina,

Gracias por tu comentario. Esos videos son un hobby de mio. No es muy profesional ;-)

In Alemania tenemos mucho nieve esto ano, pero no es normal. Hace viente anos teniamos mas nieve; pero por los anos pasados es un excepcion.

saludos

Hi mibreit-photo,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hello @mibreit-photo, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Some beautiful shots. Love those snow trees.

Yea those are really a great subject. I have wanted to photograph those for years now and finally had the right conditions :-)

great pictures and video, you were able to catch the beauty and the quite atmosphere of a winter woods

I'm not surprised that you really enjoyed this day.. how wouldn't? It is a beautiful winter wonderland. The snow shoes were a great idea for so much snow.

I love your video. Your explanations are always very useful, clear and easy to understand. And you do so much effort to take them. Walking in such snow and so much wind is definitely not very enjoyable and I really appreciate that you do it to bring us to such nice places.

Thank you for sharing! Have a lovely weekend!

Thanks for you comment! glad you liked the video

Howdy from Texas milbreit-photo! This is amazing, it is truly a whole different world than here in the warm, flat plains of Texas! Great video, it looks so peaceful and I know it's silent, this was a very enjoyable and calming video, great job!

Glad you liked it

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.