symbolic defiance, August 13th

in #photofeed5 years ago


The other evening this student of economy had the pleasure of discussing actions of importance with a lady. Amidst talks of United States presidential candidacy, and childhood anecdotes, we found common ground in the media we’ve consumed. With a mutual documentary watched, she pressed the topic of conspiracy. I rather let Epstein ‘die’ and live, but I could feel goosebumps crawl up my skin as I shared with a conviction the FBI remains accountable for MLK and JFK’s untimely demise. There was no breeze as the sun set on the arboretum, yet a chill was felt as I shared my mistrust of the government. I put forth my presidential character of choice, Andrew Yang, an Asian father of two boys, and an advocate of universal basic income. Yang contends skeptics on the proposal with a criticism of automation, the ultimate source of unemployment and economic disparity. I was happy to comment Amazon should meet its reckoning, when my company, meek yet versed, revealed her defiance of the company. In essence, her dollar no longer purchased from Amazon. Again, I felt myself shudder despite comfortable grass beneath the tree, warmth befitting of an August afternoon. Here was a woman who lived out her rhymes with reason. It shook this student to the core, an impression was felt. What could I say for myself? I blamed my university for supplying the subscription but what of my continued commerce with the tech giant? I even hesitated to dub the company a monopoly, while she affirmed it. Her solution held both insight and inspiration in tandem. A realization settled, that this writer, a braggart in his bastion on Bitcoin, decentralization, and the democratization of content could be a balloon of hot air instead. Rather than dwell on the dissonance, this observer scribbles a pledge to further to align thoughts and actions. What a privilege, to engage in exchanges that provoke thought; a love of learning waxes.