Street photography in direct sunlight

in #photography4 years ago

Shooting in the harsh sunlight can be very challenging due to reduced dynamic range so you have to compromise by focusing either on shadows or the highlights. As you might know, I like to expose for the highlights so images end up dark and contrasty like this.
Once I find a patch of direct light or reflected light from the windows, I camp until a fine subject completes the scene. Saturation of the photos is usually lost though due to the conditions. Taken with Fuji X100F.


Sort:  

Love these images!
I don't think the lost saturation is a problem though, I like the suggested shapes from the shadows and lightplay

Thanks a lot, man! I like such look with flatter colors as well, it simplifies the scene and makes the light/dark contrast more prominent.

Shots like these are usually in black and white, so it's refreshing/different to see these in colour

Oh that's true!

Such interesting, ghostly imagery that you've captured, intentionally or not... At least, that's how I interpret them😎 but, I'm a little strange that way.

Though I gave up my photography hobby many years ago, I've retained a strong interest in viewing artistic shots such as yours.

Yeah, I've moved away from documentary to this more artistic/abstract style of street photography. It challenges my creativity to make something out of what looks like an ordinary scene. :)

Evening 'street photography' brings back memories of my many years, roaming the dark, night time streets of New York City. Wet with rain never stopped my exploration, it merely amplified the experience.

Oh man that's a great feeling! The rain makes it even better indeed - some might think of it as loneliness, to me it's the time of greatest freedom and appreciation.

Yes and with less people around, there is less interference from the obtuse vibrational frequencies broadcast by them.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Hi alcibiades,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.