A First For Everything - Coffee In The Garden (04)

It has been an exciting week in the garden with lots of plants showing the first fruits of their labour.


A Cottage Garden


The flower pictured above is one that I have grown from seed, planted outside my daughter's bedroom window. For a very long time, she had nothing but a dry, dusty patch of dirt to look at. We'd considered planting a rose bush in the spot but every time we go to buy one, there are so many to choose from that we always end up walking away empty handed.

Several weeks ago, I found an old packet of seeds that were a mix of 'cottage-garden' type flowers and rather than let them go to waste, I decided to sprinkle them through the garden bed... my philosophy at the time was, whatever grows, grows!


The first flower


You can just imagine how excited I was to finally see the bright pink flower emerge. The colour took me by surprise because I had taken photos of the flower buds only days before and as you can see below, despite being interesting to look at, they were rather dull and I wasn't expecting to see such a bright, beautiful colour bloom from them.


Cute (ugly but interesting?) Buds


Unfortunately, I have no idea what sort of flower it is because the seed came from a mixed packet and I've never grown this type of flower before. Hopefully one of my readers does know the name and if so, I would be forever grateful if you could please let me know in the comments so I can label the plant and update my image captions.

(I'm betting it's a really well-known flower that I will kick myself for NOT knowing - lol)

We also spotted the first chilli growing on the chilli plant.


DSC_0088_hive.JPG


Last but not least AND surely NOT the first, I nearly missed this little inch-worm because he was hiding on the end of a branch pretending to be a stick. However, since it's the first one that we've spotted on our new (pink) rose bush, I've decided it counts as a first for the season..!


DSC_0082_hive.JPG


Now that we are coming into summer, I'm expecting the garden to change almost daily and I can only hope that my energy levels stay high so I can keep up.

Love to ALL

Until next time... xxx

Be safe and stay sane... ❤️❤️❤️


hive_divider.png


Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.

contact me via discord (alphaccino.art#2638)

photo gallery - https://peakd.com/@alphaccino.art/portfolio



sparkle_banner_crop.png


teamaustraliahivebadgeslimbeachpeakd.comalphaccinoart.png

Sort:  

This post is beautiful, it always surprises me how you get poetry from nature and everyday life. Your daughter will surely be really happy to see such a beautiful gift that you have given her. I don't know the name of the flower, but what I do know is that it is really beautiful. Greetings and blessings.


Precioso este post, siempre me sorprende como sacas poesía de la naturaleza y la cotidianidad. Seguramente tu hija estará realmente feliz de ver tan hermoso regalo que le has dado. No sé el nombre de la flor, pero lo que sí sé es que es realmente preciosa. Saludos y bendiciones.