Living on a Prayer

in #photography ā€¢ 4 years ago

Maranta leuconeura var. kerchoveana (Prayer plant)


Hello my friends šŸ˜

Long time no post, I knowā€¦ however, as it sometimes does, life called and I heeded her call.

Without getting into things too much, just know that the sun is shining and our days are starting to become a little warmer. We can only take each day as it comes but so far, so good.

While itā€™s been nice to take a break from posting, I must say, I have missed you guys so muchā€¦ I havenā€™t even had time to read or vote on anyoneā€™s post so I feel like I have lots of catching up to do.

On that note, I wanted to share a recent event that saw me ā€˜loseā€™ my account login details and then Iā€™ll follow up with a ā€˜moral to the storyā€™ so to speak. This one is especially for people like me who may think along the lines of ā€˜oh yeah, sheā€™ll be right mateā€™ā€¦ hahaHA!!!

After we moved to HIVE, I had no idea what to do with my Steem (noob-alert) and decided to just leave it where it was until I didā€¦ fast forward to when I discovered @swap.app, who offer a beginner-friendly option to 'send steem and receive Hive' making the trade in one very simple transaction.

Well, sending the request to @swap.app was easy enough, no problems there except, silly me decided to get all tech savvyā€¦ You see, it was bought to my attention that my recovery account was still set to SteemInc and so in the interest of security, I updated my recovery account details AND generated new keysā€¦ HA!

And then, because Iā€™m SOOOOO fucking savvy, I decided to generate new HIVE keys at the same timeā€¦ (oml, I know just enough to be dangerous, something something?)

I know, you already know where this is goingā€¦ because NO, I didnā€™t save them to 5 different places and NO, I didnā€™t print a hard copyā€¦ (my printer was out of ink, ok?).

Normally in these situations, Iā€™ll send myself an email as an extra back-up, but for some reason that idea slipped my mind too. So, thinking I would buy ink and print them out later, I left my fate up to chance.

Can I tell you? when I realised that the files had not savedā€¦ I literally felt sick for days. It wasnā€™t about the money, I replaced the HIVE straight away in a bid to make that aching hole in my stomach go away. (It didnā€™t)

Then I created a new account, thinking @alphaccino could carry on where @alphaccino.art left offā€¦ BUT every time I logged in and saw my new profile full of NOTHINGā€¦ Iā€™d feel sick all over again.

All my followers and followed, my voting trails, my favourites, my communitiesā€¦ all gone. Not to mention all the achievement badges Iā€™ve earned for my HIVEBuzz board.

But you know what? Even THAT wasnā€™t the worst of itā€¦ I was so embarrassed with the thought of having to reveal my stupidity to everyone, that I actually contemplated the idea of not returning at allā€¦ of course, I smacked that idea outta my head pretty quick as I soon realised that itā€™s you guys that actually keep me going. Itā€™s all those individual connections (no matter how big or small) that make HIVE what it is for me. (I'm so glad I found my way home.)

I mean, in the short time that Iā€™ve been here, you and HIVE have all become a huge part of my world and losing that connection, even for just a secondā€¦ was a devastating feeling!!!

For, no matter whatā€™s going on in my life ā€“ I will never feel alone while I have all of you <3

( So, please [Hive Login] let us never disagree againā€¦ :/ )

MORAL:

When it comes to your account keys, FOLLOW THE DAMN INSTRUCTIONS and donā€™t leave ā€˜THAT PAGEā€™ until you have completed ALL stepsā€¦ yes, ALL STEPS, every single one. (believe me, they know what theyā€™re talking about..!) coz NO, YOU WONā€™T REMEMBER it laterā€¦!


Love and hugs to all,

Until next time... xxx

Be safe and stay sane... ā¤ļøā¤ļøā¤ļø


hive_divider.png


Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.

contact me via discord (alphaccino.art#2638)

photographic portfolio - https://peakd.com/@alphaccino.art/portfolio


hive_divider.png

My HiveBuzz Board - Badges and Achievements

minnow.png birthday1.png postallweek.png community.png stnicholas2018.png
posts.png comments.png upvotes.png payout.png replies.png upvoted.png

You can view your own board at HiveBuzz

hive_divider.png

teamaustraliahivebadgeslimbeachpeakd.comalphaccinoart.png

Sort: Ā 

Hi. I don't mean to laugh, but the moral of your story "FOLLOW THE GOSH DARNIT INSTRUCTIONS"" paraphrasing a bit, isn't a laughing matter. It's serious. That's what instructions are there for. To adhere to. Else weird things may just happen.

And the embarrassment part...well, it is what it is...nothing to be ashamed about. It's happened to the savviest of us (not including me of course concerning savvy).

So glad everything worked out for you. Take care.

This is very true and I have now learnt my lesson and realised just how serious it could have been... but I'll forgive you for laughing because I really do deserve that šŸ˜‹

Thanks for having me back.

You're always welcome back as long as you can laugh at yourself. That's Hive Survival Lesson 102.

101 - password protection, lol

Congratulations @alphaccino.art! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day