The Swallows which make me look like a great dad - Bird photography

in #photography4 years ago

This is a tale of two birds. And a bit of third one.

The two birds are good at building nests but probably terrible parents.

Linnut  373.jpg

Linnut  374.jpg

The third bird is living in a man-made nest. A bit like a bunker, so I call this one "bunker bird".

Linnut  376.jpg

The bird number 1, the more responsible one, was not too responsible either. The nest was there, but nobody was brooding.

Bird number 1 was upset. Upset about everything.

Linnut  378.jpg

Bird number 2 was doing what they did the best. Ignored everything and flied back and forth, like seen in the bottom of the photo.

Linnut  381.jpg

After chilling a while, the bird number 1 decided to sit in the nest.
It didn't look happy, but it did what it had to do. No matter what it was doing.

Linnut  383.jpg

The bird number 2 entered the scene, flying gallantly to the rescue.

Aaaand just after this photo, it left and flew on the top of the wind generator.

Linnut  386.jpg

"Wee", said the bird number 2.
"I love when I don't need to work at all!"

Linnut  387.jpg

The bunker-bird thought the other birds are just being lazy.

Linnut  388.jpg

Swallows weren't like this in their youth. They were proper and took care of the eggs. Constantly brooding. Constantly!

Linnut  390.jpg

The bird number 1 was disappointed in bird number 2.

Linnut  391.jpg

But again as a hero, bird number 2 arrived to the scene.

Linnut  392.jpg

Number 2 was unsure if they wanted to be there.

Linnut  393.jpg

But before bird number 2 had a chance to fly off, number 1 decided to move first. It leaped forward quickly.

Linnut  394.jpg

"FREEEEEDOOOOOM", said bird number 1 in a loud voice.

Linnut  395.jpg

Bird number 2 grumbled. "Shit, I knew this would happen."

Linnut  396.jpg

"I better do my job", bird number 2 thought.

Linnut  397.jpg

And leaped in the nest.

Linnut  398.jpg

"Oh gross this is full of all kinds of shit"

Linnut  399.jpg

"I better clean it up".

Linnut  400.jpg

"Aaaaand I've thrown it away."

Linnut  402.jpg

"Or was it crap? Or was it the favorite item of number 1?
Goddamit."

Linnut  407.jpg

"I better carry my responsibility in the best way I can", said bird number 2 in a steady voice: "And ignore the eggs entirely and run away."

Linnut  408.jpg

Linnut  409.jpg

"FREEEEEDOOOOM", screamed number 2.

Linnut  410.jpg

"I am free! I don't want to be a grown up, I want to play all day and never do any chores!"

Linnut  411.jpg

Bird number 1 did hear the voice and returned the scene.

Or is it bird number 1? Or a fancy hat flying in the wind? A wig perhaps?

Linnut  412.jpg

This made me mostly think about a jetpack or something you might see in gundam anime.

Linnut  413.jpg

Linnut  414.jpg

As bird number 1 was disappointed earlier, they are disappointed again.
Bird number 2 didn't do shit.

Linnut  415.jpg

Linnut  416.jpg

"This is my prison", bird number 1 complained:
"If it's this bad now, what will number 2 do when the chicks will hatch?
Goddamn that bastard."

Linnut  417.jpg

"If we had a door, I'd just change the locks. It's a shame I'm a bird."


The birds are all the same species, barn swallow, Hirundo rustica.

The odd thing is, I have no idea at what phase they were in. They were not constantly on th eggs brooding, but I couldn't see or hear any chicks either. Two swallows were flying on and off to their nest, partially brooding and partially just chilling next to the nest.

I have no idea what they were doing.

Sort:  

Hahaha funny. These birds remind me of my childhood summers spent in the countryside. My grandmother had cows and these birds would make their nest in the area where cows were being held indoors. People thought their bring good luck.

Well at least they are very good at taking care of mosquitoes!
But it's amazing how some bird species are specialized in living with humans. They're depending on man-made buildings so they can build nests in them.

They are really beautiful in their moves and flying. Too bad they're also really fast!

Hey! Yes, the co-exist with humans. It is indeed interesting. I always admired how fast they could fly, it's just incredible! They are cute😊

@apsu I like the diving photo. She might be having some small kids also inside as it is not possible to see clearly. You can wait for their training session by mom🙂

Thanks :)

It's a shame these photos are from our summer cabin neighbor, so we're there only occasionally and the baby birds have most likely flied off from their nest already. It requires extremely good luck to be there on the right time 🙁

Also they probably didn't have the chicks out yet. They usually are pretty loud, screaming for food, but now it was completely silent. Not sure if they were so small that they had just hatched.. but usually when they have chicks, the nest looks like this :)

image.png
This is not my image but from google.

@apsu wow they are looking very beautiful. Oh that's is sad to hear that. But I like your photography 😉.

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!