A SHORT LOOK AT SOME SELF SEEDING PLANTS ON MY LAWN

in #photography4 years ago

My lawn isn't a particularly rich and varied habitat ... it gets trimmed from time to time and so much interesting stuff disappears ... but nonetheless ...
(Enlargeable)
... in between two trimmings, you can see some nice flowers ...
(Enlargeable)
... like these lovely Malva sylvestris ones ... beloved by the local bees.
IMG_5566 malo.jpg
Although the complete plant spread on the ground looks pretty nice and cool ...
(Enlargeable)
... if you take a macro look at the center of the flower - you'll see something extremely cool. The little pollen spheres look amazing and surreal ... in my opinion.
IMG_5377 malo.jpg
I don't know the name of these small yellow flowers ... but they appeared on my lawn a few days ago ... and I caught on photograph two minuscule Crematogaster auberti ants. ( I think, I mean I'm sure that I caught them but I'm not sure that the name of the species is correct)
(Enlargeable)
I have also a bunch of red poppies in front of the house.
IMG_5395 malo.jpg
They are very exuberant.
IMG_5392 malo.jpg
Hairy buds also look cool.
IMG_5396 malo.jpg
I have also a few species of very common wild grasses.
IMG_5400 malo.jpg
Here you can take a good, up close look at an aphid on the grass ... and here the post ends - THE END.
As always here on HIVE, the photographs are my work.

Sort:  

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION. theunion.png

Thank you

Look at all that pollen, the bugs are happy.

:) Edible pearls.

I would imagine it must be like drinking these https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orbitz_(drink)

:D The link took me to some Orbitz.com,a travel fare aggregator website, I mean the wikipedia article about this :D It's cool and bizarre - but I'm not sure that I understand the conection.

ahh darn it the link got ruined. Orbits is a strange drink with weird ball looking things floating in it that resemble the pollen in your photos

Wow, cool ... never saw this

Look like you have a natural open zoo of tiny insects and a garden of wild flowers for feeding these tiny creatures! They all look very nice and homely in your surreal kingdom!