Jasper National Park

in #photography6 years ago

We were only able to spend a short time in Jasper National Park but it's a place I could see myself going back to over and over again. Although we had a lot of rain during our time in Canada, it's still one of the most beautiful places I've visited.


Some background info on the park:

Extending over 11,000 square kilometres, it's the largest national park in the Canadian Rockies and part of UNESCO's Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site.

Jasper was named after Jasper Hawes, who operated a trading post in the region for the North West Company.

Mammals found in the park are the elk, caribou, moose, mule deer, white-tailed deer, porcupine, lynx, beaver, two species of fox, marten, river otter, mink, pika, grizzly bear, coyote, mountain goat, bighorn sheep, black bear, timber wolf, hoary marmot, cougar, and wolverine.


DSCF0543.jpg


DSCF0535.jpg


DSCF0537.jpg


DSCF0548.jpg


DSCF0555.jpg


DSCF0566.jpg


DSCF0570.jpg


DSCF0585.jpg


DSCF0589.jpg


DSCF0598.jpg


DSCF0600.jpg


DSCF0632.jpg


DSCF0634.jpg


DSCF0639.jpg


DSCF0647.jpg


Thanks for supporting me with an upvote, resteem or comment! Have you ever been to Jasper?

--Chase

Sort:  

I have been up the Icefields Parkway only about 20 miles north of Banff, and would love to make it to Jasper soon!

I can't wait to get back and visit both again. So much to see.

Very subtle but nicely defined contrasts and colours, well done my friend!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Beautiful photos @chaseburnett :) I'm from BC but have been to Jasper plenty of times; it never gets tiring! Thank you for sharing some of Canada's beauty :)

No problem! BC is absolutely gorgeous.

Hey, @chaseburnett.

I've never been to Jasper, but those mountains and lake are simply amazing. Your images are just awesome, too, like being there. The magnitude and pristine majesty of the place. Spectacular. I could see why you would want to go back, and maybe even have better weather the next time around, although I think the natural light you had to work with really lends itself to the surroundings—like something straight out of a epic fantasy novel, or a tale of arctic adventure.

So, what kind of camera did you use, and I'm guessing you must have had a decent zoom lens, too, just to get close enough to the ram.

Clean, crystalline shots of stunning views.

The ram was actually right next to the car! I use an XT2 with a few prime lenses and a 16-35 equivalent. Thank you for the comment Glen!

A slice of pure heaven! Great photos! I always wanted to go, but never made it that far.

Thanks for the comment Melinda!