Downtown Reflections

in #photography4 years ago

Downtown Reflections s.jpg

As surreal as the reflections in this photo from downtown Louisville are, they don't come close to the way downtown feels presently. With practically no warning, LMPD imposed a lockdown on much of downtown late last night/early this morning. (The first I knew of it was when I drove past it this morning) Police cruisers, city dump trucks, and concrete barriers have appeared blocking vehicle access to most of the downtown area, and police have set up checkpoints to only allow those with 'legitimate business' into the area.

The attorney general seems to be playing his cards close to his chest, apparently nobody knows when he will make his announcement. That hasn't stopped LMPD and the mayor from declaring state of emergencies and turning downtown into a decent facsimile of a war zone. It has also turned downtown into a ghost town, there was definitely a sense this morning that most people were doing their best to stay out of the area. What gets me is that there is no overt threat to anything, just the sneaking suspicion that people won't be happy with the announcement when it finally comes.

I didn't take my camera with me this morning so I'm going to try and remedy that tomorrow, hopefully I will be able to show you just how surreal it is soon.

(Obligatory mention of @monochromes #monomad contest)

Sort:  

The camera's legitimate business.

That's my story and I'm stickin' to it!

Congratulations @coloneljethro! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors