Baby Foxes Sleeping and Playing... CUTENESS OVERLOAD

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I woke up at one thirty in the morning, grumbling and miserable. Packing my gear bag (because my dumb ass didn't prep the evening before) I wondered, "is this even going to be worth it? I probably won't even see anything."

crimsonclad-foxes1.jpg

Well, it was, and I did, and holy shit, it was the best.

 
crimsonclad-foxes2.jpg

Photography is a passion for me. I fall deeply in love with moments and glimpses. The way the light hits a person's face; the ridiculous derpy joy of a running dog; the lines and angles formed where buildings intersect with nature. In general, photography is objective- you like what you like, and it's different than what other people enjoy. I spend a lot of time traveling the world, looking for things to love, and then capturing them to share with others. In this case, it was a border crossing, two ferries, and a drive out into the middle of god damn nowhere. But I'm pretty sure you're going to like these!
HOW COULD YOU NOT? JUST LOOK AT THEM DAMMIT SQUEEEEEEE

crimsonclad-foxes3.jpg

It's five in the morning. Most sane people are asleep, or getting ready for work, or drinking a coffee, or initiating morning sex. I'm picking my way through a field of wildflowers that haven't opened for the day, winding between tiny nuggets of orange, silver, and black fur. (Also sleeping. The only ones up with me are the rabbits, while it's still safe for them to be out and about.)

crimsonclad-foxes4.jpg

In a week or two more, these fox kits will have grown enough to have lost their adorable baby looks and these moments in time will be lost forever. In this one geographical area, a mated red male and black female have produced a large litter... there are at least three orange kits, two blacks, and a silver. The blacks and silvers are actually pretty rare in the wild, when you're able to find fox dens to spy on. These babies have so little life experience that they don't know any better when it comes to being afraid of me- the parents nope away hard, but don't actually encourage the babies to do the same. I guess they figure that if I was going to eat their children, then that's just the circle of life? Their stupidity is my gain, I suppose. I followed them around for about five hours, watching them be... well...dumb babies. Enjoy!

sjfoxes-521-6515.jpg

crimsonclad-foxes5.jpg

crimsonclad-foxes6.jpg

crimsonclad-foxes7.jpg

If you made it this far, awesome! I guess this is my introduction post, so if you like what you see here, follow me for more- I'll check you out too. Would you want to see more of these guys? How about other travel photos or anecdotes? Dogs and pets? Can't wait.

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
crimsonclad.png

Sort:  

Great captures.

Thanks! I'm thinking of organizing them into sets based on activity and maybe releasing prints. They're not normally what I shoot, but I'm really proud of them.

Oh.my.god. These foxes are soooooo fluffy I'm gonna die haha. Really great example of an introductory post as well. Good mix of text and pictures. Also your mastery of the markdown format is way above that of an average newbie to Steemit. If you keep this up you will have a ton of followers soon enough

thanks! I think it's just that I'm a visual person- it's important to me that things look good. I'm not really sure what I'm doing, steemit-wise, other than knowing I want to share and be shared with. Kind of you to point this stuff out :)

also, your music tastes are sick, my friend. /followed

These are great! Nice write up too! I followed and look forward to more!

thanks! they have such derpy little faces it's hard not to love them :D

I love to travel with My pets. It's very cool cause it's like an mystic affinity that You develop with the animal partner. Cause i understand that the animal an me become a team conected like sacred ancestral animal-totem, it's puré Magic.
Lovely Foxes photos ^^
Pukugrettings

@crimsonclad thanks a Lot. I wrote You a Discord dm today (cause i was in the spanish meet up and I was very interest in show My art in Nft - i'm an painter since 1994 and plastic art/art history profesor in the university here (and musicians since 1995), but i'm not too good understanding the Nft process for upload some of My pants. I wanna show them there for the first time to the world (that conceptual paints are more important to me beyond the músic that i make) . And in other Hand i like and i wanna support others artist using My discord server / comunity (the pukuworld) to Venezuelan new artist that are rising and begining in hive. Blessings metalgirl lml

Wow spectacular shots. The grey and black guy is so beautiful! Definately worth getting up so early

he was flurffy like a bath mat <3

wow such intro post! So foxy! Cuteness overload

NECROMANCY!

but yes, thank you :3 I love this post, it makes me remember all of the grumbling and the fumbling and the laying in shit and the dew... but mostly, it makes me remember that the universe doesn't have or need a plan, it just is, and it's full of magic and joy.

Joining the train of people who thought there was a new Crim post about baby foxes.

Seems I'm a bit late to vote this. hmm.

I'm happy just to remind people that there are treasure troves of beautiful things hidden all over the chain. No votes necessary!

The people have spoken, you have to make a new post :) Come on you can't tell me you haven't taken some pictures recently of anything. do it

Ugh for a second I thought @crimsonclad had written a post, thanks @carlgnash

But this way you get to see it AND it costs you nothing. Take tiny fox nose boops for free and have a brighter day! it's the miracle of long term content discovery in action~

hah sorry to jerk yer chain LOL but I hope you are at least smiling at baby foxes now?

I am so low on voting, that I saved my upvote for this one. I don't think you get anything yet from mine, anyway. Sucks being new and poor! I LOVED the photos and the story that you told about the babies. Yay!!! I tweeted and shared on FB and Linked In. See you at PAL on Discord!

it will come in time! I appreciate you~ come and find me and say hello, and let me know if I can help.

Sloths are beautiful. We have actually been on the PAL discussion on Discord at the same time quite often.

Foxes are like puppies... always cute! Big and small.
And holly shit - you got a black one!

I DID! yeah, they're really cute, but you know- the way they move tips you off. Very slinky when they want to; predatory. Otherwise, yeah, bouncy puppy morons. I have lots more photos from this set. I'm just breaking them into chunks so no one gets tired of them. :)

Momma is a beautiful black and silver-tipped, papa is an auburn red.

I only saw fox once... Was walking near a fores and he was drinking water from a little stream. I got scared, he got scared, looked at me and run away. That was it :) he was cute real ginger foxy.

I love photography, but am truly only a beginner and would love to learn more. Your photos are amazing, and how on earth did you even find this opportunity to shoot these guys?!? Amazing! Thanks for posting. :)

thanks so much for saying so. Truthfully, these photos were about a year in the making — the reproductive cycle is about 12 months long, and the babies grow SO FAST! There's about a two week perfect window where they are young and dumb enough to allow people close enough for this sort of thing.

IMG_20170522_063137-01.jpeg

Hey crimsonclad, aww foxes are really sweet, yeah why not more of them :). I want to focus especially on newcomers but also on people that are very active. My plan is to build up a community with active users to support each other. Looking forward to support each other, upvoted and following, Would you be interested? greetings Lena!

I'm fairly new here too and I'd be interested. I've followed you. (I'm not the original poster btw, just think you have a great idea).

ok, great! have you ever heard about streemian.com?

No, whats streemian?

it is a platform for upvoting automatically your followers, pretty cool thing, just let me know !

Great idea, Lena! I'm interested in finding other people like me. Just people who are out living and loving and have an eye for capturing that feeling. Keeping an eye on you guys! :)

great! have you heard about streemian.com?

I saw your reply above. I'm willing to try it out, but I'm also hoping to connect with people who will want to interact with my posts just because they like them, too!

yeah good idea :)

Congratulations @crimsonclad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow, amazing work! You're a pro!

not so much - just a crazy person willing to lie in a wet field at 5 in the morning hoping that a baby animal is too stupid to do what nature intended it to ;)

Adorable! Thank you for you tenacity to get out there and capture this for all of us So much love! Christina

Nice shoots.

"Would you want to see more of these guys?"

Yes

"How about other travel photos or anecdotes?"

Yes

"Dogs and pets?"

Well.. cats! The Steem blockchain is made for cats ;-)

hahah, well... I am a dog person by nature — BUT, I do work with a lot of rescue organizations, so it's fair to say that I do happen to have literal pictures of actual baskets of kittens up my sleeve, LOL

IMG_20160312_175651.jpg

Brilliant photos. It feels like you are there playing along with them!

Thanks! They really don't know any better, so it's a great opportunity as a photographer, but not so great if I was not being careful about respecting their space or their environment. A week or two out from here, and they'll have lost that curious wonder...

I think they mostly hoped that I would feed them after so rudely waking them up ;)

Well taken images, you've captured their playful spirit superbly. Followed & upvoted

thanks so much! looking forward to seeing your stuff :)

Excellent photo's.. I really like the Foxes.... Nice article!!

thanks! I'm trying to get into cryptos on the side.... looks like you came into my life at just the right time. Following you!

Aww where did you find them?

A closely held secret, to save their stupid asses from crappy tourists. But I will say, that they're actually in quite a few places in Washington!

Fair enough! I'm on the other side of the Atlantic so it's not like I can pop over any day!

well, given that you have the wanderlust too, you could run into them sooner than you think ;) I'm doing some overseas traveling later this year, and I'm always looking for places with interesting people and landscapes and cultures to shoot. I'll keep an eye on your journeys!

really great pictures you have taken. Upvoted and followed.

thanks for the add!

wow, those images r great!

Wow this is an amazing collection of photos 💕 the gray one stole my heart!

You definitely deserve the upvote and to be followed. Thank you for sharing this captured magic...