Muir of Ord

in #photography6 years ago

DSCF1615.JPG

In my previous blog, I described my visit to Glen Ord Distillery. I took some photos on my way there and want to share them with you. The distillery is the only tourist attraction in this village, with an exception of the Black Isle Show, which is an annual event taking place in August. Here you can see the distillery chimney poking from behind the trees.

DSCF1602.JPG

To get there you walk along a road with some views over pastures. Swallows fly around chasing after insects, this time of year. As you enter the village you pass a picturesque church.

DSCF1603.JPG

I was more captivated by a wall surrounding someone's house, covered with flowering plants. It looks almost as if these flowers just planted themselves there naturally.

DSCF1606.JPG

I love such a creative use of space. It must be one of the cutest rockeries one might find.

DSCF1611.JPG

Once you pass this place you are pretty much back at the train station. You can see a war memorial from the footbridge.

DSCF1616.JPG

Everything in Muir of Ord reminds you of its famous whisky. These whisky barrel plant pots are right on the platform. You might catch glims of them from a window of the train, as you go past.

DSCF1618.JPG


Photographed with Fujifilm FinePix S2500HD Camera. Edited using Gimp

Sort:  

Lovely little village 💯🐒

Thanks for a comment and an upvote. :)

It is really lovely. I wasn't sure what to expect from it. I guess Highland villages all have their charm. :)

For sure I'll have to visit that area one day 💯🐒

Amazing photography @dana-varahi, I like it, visit my account.