A Glimpse of my Hometown - Bolívar Square

in #photography3 years ago

Hi there! ❤


Today I took a walk downtown and saw the chance to share some pictures with you. I was not planning this at all when I went out because most of the time I don't even bring my phone with me (safety reasons). However, this time was necessary to do it.

This is The Bolivar square, in my hometown San Juan de los Morros. I was doing some errands near to it when I noticed that the sunny day was making look the square very beautiful. The name of this square is in honor of Simon Bolivar, our liberator. It is possible to find a square with this same name in each little town or city of my country, Venezuela.

Statue of Simón Bolívar


The inscription carved in the stone talks about the Invasion of the Center initiated by The Liberator and refers to this as a decisive step for the battles of Boyacá and Carabobo.

img_0.3005523626880805.jpg

In the square, it is possible to find green areas and long concrete benches where people usually rest or sit with friends to talk. A few years ago this was the favorite place for skaters to skate since besides the benches there are also many stairs.

img_0.4134940469156384.jpg

San Juan Bautista Church | St. John the Baptist Church

This was the first catholic parish established in my hometown on May 26, 1780. However, the construction of the church we see today began in 1930 and was later remodeled in 1933.

img_0.3979625404645245.jpg

John the Baptist Monument

Well known by the locals as "San Juanote" which means "big" or "giant" John. It is a 62.3-ft statue placed in the Plaza Bolivar. It was built under the rule of President Juan Vicente Gomez. The background story of this statue is quite interesting because people say that the president asked the people what they wanted from him. The locals answered that they wanted a great city, a great San Juan de los Morros, but he misunderstood their request and gave the order to build this great statue of John the Baptist.

img_0.919912676286994.jpg

Federal Government Office

I have an interesting photo of this building that I will share with you in my upcoming posts. I added to this one because it is also placed at one side of the Bolivar Square and a must-see (at least from outside) when you visit the square.

img_0.43477706257399823.jpg

There are a lot of places to visit here in my hometown. I'll try to share them with you.

img_0.9968033092059846.jpg

Thanks for reading and supporting.

Lots of love,

W.

img_0.9968033092059846.jpg

All the photos are my property and were shot by me using a Xiaomi Redmi Note 8

Sort:  

Very beautiful picture @dearw❤😇.... Keep sharing your hometown pictures with us:)

Thank you, Kari. Yes, I'll keep sharing photos on Hive 🌼✨😊

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with Ecency Points. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android: https://android.ecency.com, iOS: https://ios.ecency.com mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.ecency.com
Learn more: https://ecency.com
Join our discord: https://discord.me/ecency

what an impressive statue and a beautiful squarer

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Yes, It's a beautiful square, really nice to sit down for a bit and enjoy the view.
It was a pleasure to join, I hope to do it again soon.
Thank you so much for stopping by! ✨🌼