Holding the Gold & Bronze

in #photography2 years ago (edited)

IMG_7911.JPG

I’ve never really been interested in winning, much less holding an Olympic medal, but the opportunity came around recently and of course I “took it up”.

The gold medal 🥇 above is from the Beijing Olympics in 2008 and the bronze from the 2004 Olympics in Athens. The holder of these medals won them for volleyball 🏐. And that got me thinking, I didn’t realize in a team sport, the entire team got medals. ( well I didn’t really think about it). That’s a lot of gold! But unlike bitcoin, gold is infinite. I wouldn’t be surprised if secretly they actually started making gold years ago and only told people that it has to be mined.

One thing that surprised me was the weight of these medals. I thought they would be heavier, but then I don’t own that much gold at the moment. Sold most of it years ago because it reminded me of a life I stoped living. But that doesn’t mean I won’t buy more in the future. Not coins or bricks 🧱 but jewelry I can wear daily and sell when I think it’s time.

Big ups to this woman on her accomplishments and letting others touch a piece of the dream turn reality. And on this occasion, no one tried to bite the medal, a mayor in Japan was under heat for doing just that.

IMG_7912.JPG

D20CDD50-9D54-4BEA-B16D-A85C900BEAC7.png

Sort:  

Sometimes, I used to wonder how exactly is gold being valued and what actually makes it exceptional when compared with other medals and commodities.

Well, I know demand and supply has some role to play here but like you said here, what it really pre created and present to us to long for it?
A thought for a minute.

Right! You never know, what if it was more thing we have been lied to about. I've never really heard of a food shortage. And we can't really look and the amount of gold that exist at any given time.

I have never received any medal before but I never thought they were actual gold, silver and bronze that worth anything.

It's a good thing they actually worth something. Thank you for sharing this with us sir 😊.

Yeah I don't think the everyday regular sportsman wins real gold, but the Olympians, yes. And that's a lot of medals 🎖 to go around. Thanks for reading.

Oh Yeah, I think that is it.

Thank you so much for enlightening me more.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

!ALIVE


PS. You will earn more ALIVE tokens if you add #AliveAndThriving too as we have a curation project looking for that tag with the largest ALIVE stake in the tribe behind it.

  • The 4 points of #AliveAndThriving, the first point is mandatory, then add one or more of the rest, share your journey to thrive in life.


Made in Canva

@dmilliz! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wearealive. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.