Impromptu Car Photography With My Son

in #photographylast year (edited)

IMG_7927.JPG

Over the weekend at an event, my son insisted on getting some free cotton candy. It took almost an hour waiting in line to get some. During the wait I took my camera out and my son who I was waiting for/with in the line said:

“Let me use it, let me use it”.

He is only seven and to give a child that age an expensive camera to play with may seem scary at first. But there is also that part of a parent who wants to see their child learn and experience things, especially if it’s something productive.

“Alright son, take pictures of the cars over there and let me see them.”

Subaru BRZ

IMG_7924.JPG

Since the other twin and his friend weren’t around, I felt a little more at ease with him using my camera. If the three of them or even just the other twin were around, they would be fighting over whose turn it is. So in that scenario, I wouldn’t let any of them use it.

IMG_7925.JPG

May seem unfair to the other twin but that opportunity to let him use the camera will come around. I also have a spare camera I let them use from time to time but it doesn’t have a lens to focus and zoom. It’s one of those cameras that can fit right in your pocket.

IMG_7931.JPG

The first set of shots he took came out decent but then I taught him about the art of framing, trying to get the subject centered in the picture. After that he was on a roll and took some great shots of the Subaru cars on display. Of course the BRZ was my favorite.

IMG_7926.JPG

The town I live in is the home of Subaru and a few of their major factories are located here. If Subaru were to fail as a company, the entire town would fail. Subaru not only employees 1,000s of people in the town, but there are also many smaller companies that depend on Subaru for work. For instance the company that makes the window motor. The company that makes the seat cover material, the tire company, the windshield wiper company etc. You get the picture.

Subaru Levorg

IMG_7928.JPG

IMG_7932.JPG

IMG_7933.JPG

IMG_7917.JPG

After my son took these shots his brother and their friend came along wanting cotton candy. Now imagine that, after we waited in line for almost an hour, they come along and reap the benefits with only a few minutes to get their candy. But hey, that’s what parents and brothers are for right?

Subaru Outback

IMG_7937.JPG

IMG_7938.JPG

I can’t believe we spent so much time waiting for free cotton candy 🍭, but luckily we spent some of the time productively taking photos and learning about photography. After awhile my friend and neighbor ( the father of my twins’ friend) came and took over the waiting in line duty. I could finally walking around a bit and be a free man.

I think my son got some good shots and he was really proud of himself and happy we got to share this father son moment. I was too. When they were younger I used to make blogs of them but as they got older they kinda shied away from it. Recently they have gotten back into the grove but more leaning towards gaming content when they go the game center to play Pokémon MedasStarz. I think that’s how you spell it.

Subaru Forester

IMG_7941.JPG

IMG_7944.JPG

IMG_7940.JPG

IMG_7945.JPG

Which car was your favorite ? What do you think of Subarus? Until next time, take it easy!

Sort:  

Awwn... I can totally relate with how scared you might have felt when he asked of the camera in the first place but I'm happy you gave it to him since he was the only one there, hehehe.

The shots are so beautiful, is it that your little boy took all of these shots or you took some? Well even if he took just one of them, they all look amazing, I'm sure your son will make a great photographer.

The candy must be really nice for the queue to be that long, it's a good thing you took your camera with you.

All the cars look beautiful and unique but I love the BRZ more too because of the color blue which happens to be my favorite, I just hope it has good features, hehe.

I think Subarus is life saver to so many people, for creating more employment for the unemployed, that is a lot for me.

Hope you are doing well today sir?

Greetings, he took all of them. The first batch he took though I didn't post those. Only the ones after the little lesson.

Ah the candy, it was finished so fast I didn't see it for more than 30 seconds when they came around and went about again.

For real right, that blue color really fits the sportiness and blue is after all my favorite color as well 😉

I hear they have big plans for electric cars and are thinking about flying cars. Subarus actually used to be a plane ✈️ maker before they made cars so it only makes sense.

All good so far, just rising up!

How are things on your side empress?

Wow, he is a really fast learner, what a smart boy 🥰. The images came out really great. Tell him Hope loves the photos 🤭.

Wow, then the candies must be really tasty then 😋.

Oh wow, blue is a really beautiful color and it's so cool to know you also love blue 💙.

Hmm, that's really nice, an plane making company now making cars, that means they must be planning something crazy, hehehe.

Just rising up? Which means it's already dawn there? Good morning then ☺️.

Things are going well, I'm fine and healthy 🤭🤗, thank you ❤️.

Have a great weekend ahead 🌺🌺.

Hahaha it's indeed a battle if you have one camera and two kids who are both interested in the art, unless they both will develop different interests in different areas.

And and even if I got out the other camera 📷 they'd all one to use mine. So the genera rule is "don't touch my 💩".

So the genera rule is "don't touch my 💩".

!LOL That's true though, kids have a tendency to find stuff to fight about.

The first one looks really cool.

Yeah man, the only thing is enough space for 2.