Tree Peony (Paeonia suffruticosa)

in #photography11 months ago

Hello dear Hive friends, first of all I would like to welcome you to my new post and hope you are well! Hopefully you could use your weekend wisely and enjoy one or the other great experience. In this post I would like to present you a wonderful splendor of nature, which I photographed yesterday afternoon and hope you like it!

_DSC6172.jpeg

Here you can see a Tree peony which is also scientifically called Paeonia suffruticosa. The genus Paeonia was described in 1753 by the historical cult figure Carl von Linné and the name is associated with Paian, who is considered the doctor of the gods in Greek mythology.

_DSC6171.jpeg

According to a legend, Paian used the power of this plant to heal the god Pluto after he was wounded in a battle with Hercules. Another story from Greek mythology reports that the Roman god Virbios died through a horse and was brought back to life by Artemis, the goddess of hunting with the help of a peony.

_DSC6179.jpeg

Back to Paian, who by the way, received much of his knowledge from Asclepius, a well-known healing god, used peonies to heal even more gods. For example, a legend shows that he also healed the wound of the god of war Ares with the help of the roots of peonies. I always find it interesting to go deeper into the topic of plants and to look at the mythology behind it!

_DSC6174.jpeg

Peonies are also often associated with magical powers and from a symbolic point of view there are different views in different cultures. In the Asian region, it is often used as a symbol of happiness and wealth and has often been associated with royality. It is also often seen as a symbol that expresses female beauty and is also often associated with love.

_DSC6177.jpeg

That it is a medicinal plant should have already become clear from its mythological legends. Also the well-known alchemist Paracelsus also appreciated the healing properties and the medical effect goes back to Paeoniflorin, which can be used medicinally in many ways. Attention: Peonies are poisonous, a property that more medicinal plants have in common and should only be used in the form of ready-made preparations. As always, no matter which medicine, you should always ask your trusted doctor or pharmacist about the correct use and possible side effects!

_DSC6173.jpeg

Many thanks for stopping by and watching! I used my camera Sony Alpha 6000 and Sony SEL-55210 Telephoto Zoom Lens (55-210mm) to take these pictures.-

Sort:  

That's great. I think you have a great fond of flowers. I also like flowers and Love nature but I don't have enough time to spend with them . Your knowledge about the natural world is very good.

Thank you so much! I look forward to hearing your feedback and opinion. Have a nice day :)

The post style totally resonates with my taste. I also love to share my flowers photography with some interesting facts about it.

Thanks for your well-constructed and friendly feedback :) I am happy that you are interested in my posts. Stay well and have a nice day

Lovely flowers, looks so refreshing and beautiful 😍 loved the way you're captured it

Many thanks

Pink is my favorite color, and i love this plant very much.

Happy to know your favorite color and I’m glad you like my post.

It is not easy to go and find such beautiful things everyday but we see that every day you find more beautiful flowers for all of us and give us more good knowledge about them.

Thanks for your motivating words! I really appreciate it.

Most welcome dear.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @elevator09.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more