Memory Lane🤳 - The Contest Winners 📸

in #photography3 years ago

image.png

The Creepy Crawly Story

For some reason, I like taking pictures of insects. Especially trying to find a good angle on a spider sitting on its web. In August of 2012, is when I first got my chance to start doing so. In the picture above, I was out in the garage and noticed something glint in the sunlight - it was a spider web!

Commonly called 'Ladder Spiders' or 'Banana Spiders' (here), the webs they create are unique by the design in the middle. This particular spider was about three inches long and the full 'ladder' was close to a foot. It allows them to actually shake and sway the web (often quite rapidly) to attract a weary flyer that might need a rest. Which, also become the spider's dinner. 🕷🕸

Memory Lane

The contest I put up last week is over, I hope you all enjoyed the fun! We ultimately had 14 entrants (not bad!) that followed the tag and put their pictures on chain for us. The rules were super simple:

  • Post the first 5 (safe for work) pictures you had taken in either your iCloud or Google Photos account.
  • Tell us all a short story about each picture.
  • Use the tag #memorylane.

PRIZES

1st) - 30 HIVE + 25 LEO + 1000 PIMP
2nd) - 20 HIVE + 15 LEO
3rd) - 10 HIVE + 10 LEO

3rd Place Winner

Five Easy (?)... Memories from @bluemoon

The picture you see here, I thought was pretty amazing. I am a big nature lover alongside my little princesses. We visit the parks quite often and will see various creatures - squirrels are among them. We have gotten close enough to touch birds and reptiles, but no mammals (aside from other people's pets) have actually let us get close enough to touch. Seeing this little squirrel eating from his wife's hand in 2017 gave me that 'awww - cute!' feeling. In line with the city life of 'more concrete and less nature', the photographs chosen in his post are mostly reflective of that. The final one of a butterfly perched on some thistle flowers is a great capture to end it. Thank you for joining in and congrats!

2nd Place Winner

(ENG-ESP) To remember is to live from @alvarezjessica

Sometimes, you just know when you have found the perfect shot, and seeing something like this from a few years ago that was an accidental capture, gives me a little bit of a chill - especially since it was taken in winter. HA! The whole post was put together well, using a chronological sequence that I really enjoyed. It started off with an adorable photograph from 2015 of her beloved little 'Sophie'. From later that same year, comes a rare encounter with her grandmother's orchid. The last two, you will have to go and see the post for yourself and I promise, they are well worth your time to go and see! Well done Jessica, and thank you for participating in this random contest I decided to spring on Hive. 😝

1st Place Winner

Memory Lane In Colorado Springs from @bulldog-joy

Staying true to the theme and posting the first five pictures in her digital catalog, we have to congratulate you. This is the third picture in her first five, of a rainbow. This is unique because of the height from which it was taken. If you notice, the rainbow is actually below her line of view and she seems level with the clouds. This shot was taken in 2011 - on top of Pike's Peak! Over 14,000 feet high, there is no mountain east of it that is higher in the United States. Been there a couple times and it has an amazing view! She also wouldn't have the joy she does without some shots of her immortalized companion - 'Molly'. Finishing off the post of her first 5 is somewhat of a strange thing to take a picture of, but I have definitely had my fair share of interesting ones in that pile. Thank you for joining in on my madness! 😜

Side Note

I wanted to give an honorable mention to @stickupboys for having the oldest digital photo of anyone! I will send you 5 HBI for the coolness on Christmas. You can see their post here and check out pictures even older than my and @bulldog-joy's! I have also decided to send all the other participants 2 HBI as a thank you for entering and encourage you to enter other contests out there. It's a great way to meet new people that have similar interests as you. Oh and while you're doing that, REMEMBER TO BE YOU! I always am, even while dancing with the stars.

image.pngimage.pngyoutubesub.pngimage.pngimage.pngteleg.pngtumblr.png


thealliance new pagebreak 2.png

because I can
So Can WE
Vote Witty

Is Voting #WITNESSES difficult?
Let me do it for you!
Set Witty as your --->PROXY VOTER!<---

enginewitty hive witness.png

Sort:  

This thing is looking kinda huge :o

That's a cool.spider. I like checking out spiderwebs.

Always been a cool natural art.

Absolutely they make some amazing art and it always leaves me wondering how they could have achieved running a suspension line that distance.

Man, spiderwebbing is crazy strong! One of the respects and loves I have for it.

Actually one time I took a spider and ran the web around two pieces of dowel that were spread apart. Pretty funny thing is after I made a good chunk of string I actually tried to break it and holy cow breaking tension is amazing. Let alone elasticity

hey thanks very much, I enjoyed it! Are you saying we are old?

I'm saying we have experience with technology. 😁

Smooth

Posted using Dapplr

Dang, I missed this one. I love content about memories after all. I'll try next time if there will be.

By the way, Ladder Spider? I haven't heard that one or even seen it. Well, I didn't explore the whole country so I may not stumble it. lol

Pretty common in the warmer months!

Whaaaat? Cool. Thanks. Yeahhhh, hugging Mollys urn real quick. Done. Thanks again. Was fun dwelling in memories. A little sad too. And a little wanderlust caught me.

But yah, thanks again, appreciated. And everyone who entered, good job :).

And the spider, pretty in a very creepy way lol.

Most welcome and thanks for sharing with us, I know it was a tear-jerker for ya.

I couldn’t find my card in time but i will still post them once i do. Great idea👍

Be cool to see what ya got.

Thanks a lot! I am very pleased to see that you had something to note in my photos. Because of this contest, I went through the old photos, the occasion of nostalgic memories.

Been times I'd mentally filed something away and seen a picture and been like, wow, that was a good day.

It's great to remember the good days, the good times. I don't know why they are always in the past. I mean, I know, of course ...

I hav spiders in my bathhouse. I love them! I don't know what they are called.

IMG_20181215_092121.jpg

Cousin of the ones here called Hawaiian garden spiders. Funny, they call 'em banana spiders there too 😋

Cousins huh, well I hope all their relatives don't decide to take a Hawaiian vacation. I have enuf here. Lol

Good contest, quite entertaining, congrats to all the winners, it was a pleasure <3

Awesome, glad you enjoyed it 😎

I can't get happiness in my heart. I honestly enjoyed writing this post, I laughed remembering moments and I was filled with melancholy when I noticed how fast time has passed. Thanks for the initiative, I hope it won't be the last one. Thank you also for reading and appreciating my photographs. I send you a big hug from Venezuela, thank you, thank you very much!


No me cabe la felicidad en el corazón. Honestamente disfrute escribir este post, me reí recordando momentos y me llene de melancolía al notar que rápido ha pasado el tiempo. Gracias por la iniciativa, espero que no sea la última. Gracias además por leerme y valorar mis fotografías. Te mando un fuerte abrazo desde Venezuela. ¡Gracias, muchísimas gracias!

Most welcome and glad you were able to find it and participate in the contest. 😊

Congrats to the winners! Life's taking me away from screen time at the moment but I'm glad to see some #thealliance love on the chain.

Thanks for puttin up the LEO man and life happens, I know all too well 😁