One Photo - One Story

in #photographylast year

Back on the legacy chain, there was a user who was posting some very interesting photos. Interesting photos I say, but for many those were strange to say the least. He was an excellent photographer, capturing moments of life others would never notice or appreciate. I remember I was admiring him a lot and felt bad when he stopped posting in 2021.

The truth is, most of the amateur photographers are focusing on the most obvious and most loved things like flowers or sunset photos. There's nothing wrong with those, but life and photography is more than that. Most likely this guy was the only one photographing old fuse boxes, doorbells, beer cans and empty beer bottles left on stairs and so on. I'm a huge fan of that type of photography and trying to capture a scene when I come across one, but with the constant rush we have in life, we tend to just pass by these scenes and not see them. Well, it's time to change that I think.

There were a lot of good photographers on the chain, some of them are not active anymore, but I still follow them to be able to go back and learn from their posts. This guy is one of them, a great inspiration for me.

20230421_095749a.jpg

9 days ago I passed by an old building that had this old wooden door. It may look very odd to you as the door's height is way shorter than normal, you have to keep your head down why entering. You may wonder what kind of place is that. Well, it's a funeral service, they are making flower wreaths. It's a very old business from the 20th century, still functioning in the basement of the house. I took a photo of the door, that dates back to the 20 century for sure. Odd? It is, but from photographic point of view, I think it's interesting.

20230421_100025a.jpg

Next there's this cutie. I took this photo the same day as the previous one. I had to wait for the light to turn green and this cutie was standing next to me. He seemed really calm, even bored. I wanted to take a photo of him as there were still 20 seconds to wait, but he was not interested, so he was looking in the other direction. I did not know what language he's listening to, so I addressed him in Hungarian, hoping the sound of my voice can make him turn his head and it worked. He looked at me for a second, then turned his head away as I was was not interesting 😳

IMG_20191207_094502a.jpg

I took this photo in December 2019. Looks like we had a bit of snow that day ans this willow looked interesting.

IMG_20191207_094502a1.jpg

I made a monochrome version too. Let's see which one is better. It's not the best best quality though as I had my old phone then.

IMG_20200106_091016a.jpg

Fresh snow on the ledge in January 2020.

IMG_20200106_091041a.jpg

Ice flower on the glass the same day in January 2020.

IMG_20200106_091054a.jpg

This glass has an interesting story as well, but the ice flowers are more interesting. I bet many of you have never seen such phenomenon. It's becoming very rare, especially now that winters are getting warmer and warmer and our windows are not made of just a simple piece of glass. I was lucky someone messed up the measurements of my window and I ended up with a piece of lass on my balcony, which at those low temperatures was the perfect place for the ice flowers to form on it. I was really lucky and I'm grateful to mother nature. Who knows when I will have the chance to photograph such thing again.

I hope you can fine at least one photo and a story you like. I tried to mix them up, so there's a little bit of everything here 😁.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

You also like old doors right? Me too. The ice flowers are second to none. Great stuff!

I love old doors, it's an obsession. I didn't know you like them too, but I'm glad to hear that. Thanks, I'm glad you like my photos :)

I have massive trip plans ahead as you might have seen already so I guess I'll see one too many interesting old doors on my way. Obviously I'll share the harvest :)

Looking forward to it :)

Impressive ice flowers.
I didn't know it.

Thank you for teaching me one more thing through your posts.

!PIZZA

My pleasure. It's a wonderful thing and I wish I could take more photos, but who know when there will be so cold again.

Some great shots. Especially like the first shot of the door. Seeing these make me want to do different stuff and get out of my comfort zone.

Oh, thank you very much @bbphotography, it means a lot coming from you.

Seeing these make me want to do different stuff and get out of my comfort zone.

Happy to hear that and I hope to see your photos as you made me curious :)

Those ice flowers are freaking insane! I've never been able to capture something like that but I've only been around snow and ice a handful of times (excluding ice skating hahahaha).

It's a rare phenomenon, you don't see such beauties just anywhere, anytime, that's why I was happy to have been able to take a few photos. In an hour, everything was melted as the sun came out and it got a bit warmer :)

You don't happen to remember his nickname, do you? 🤔

No, unfortunately, we did not introduce ourselves :)

Oh. That sounded very familiar to me. It's something my brother (@fcdvpds) used to do. 😆

I always get a more admiration for photos that show unusual things and still being a great picture.
When I walk I try to look for such things. But I still find it hard to create nice photos from those things. It's something I want to improve in, because I love it when others do it.

Really love the door dog and ice flower pictures

It takes a bit of time and maybe editing too, to get used to these photos, but it's not impossible. The other thing is, you know what they say, the beauty is in the eyes of the beholder. Some may like it, others won't so you need to find the niche for these photos.

Thanks for the comment, I'm glad you were able to find some that you like :)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
castri-ja tipped erikah
jlinaresp tipped erikah
@wrestlingdesires(8/15) tipped @erikah (x2)

I'm a photography lover but finds it very hard to make beautiful and appealing photography .I think I have to work on that 🙃

Practicing is a must. No one got to the level they are now without practicing :)

I think some people have the knowledge that beautiful photography should only be about flowers which is not so
Photography is art and we can take any picture

It depends on the taste but I think liking only flowers is their loss. Life is much more than flowers. You can take any photo you want as there will always be someone who likes it. Diversity is key as always.

The photos are beautiful; the seemingly meaningless door has a very distinctive geometric construction.
Same with the ice flowers!
Congratulations!

Thank you @mikezillo. The door and the ice flower are indeed special, each in their own way of course.

I love the door's shot!!!.. Wow!

!VSC
!PIZZA
!BBH

Looks like that is one of the favorites :)

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @erikah

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @erikah

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 4/25

@erikah! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @jlinaresp. (3/5)

It's the Ice flowers for me. Beautiful shots, giving the Christmas vibes. I've never seen one before. The snow is one reason why I want to leave Africa one day, if it's just for a day.

Thank you! Indeed, the ice flower can create Christmas vibes, however, if you have not seen any, or even snow, then ... :) I hope you can go to a country where there's snow.

I love the one of the dog :) Was he with anyone?

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@erikah! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Yes, he was on leash, I think he was with an older man.

Good :) Abandoned dogs are such a tragedy...

!PIZZA

I like the analogy between the image of the low and deteriorated door and the funeral home, it is a symbol of the decadence of life and of the body itself that fades away. They make an interesting relationship with the rest of the monochromatic photos. Excellent

I'm glad you like it. I tried my best :)

These are good shots. I like the door and the ice flowers on glass, I wish I could touch them.

I love the dog.

SO beautiful the detail of the snow! Love it!

Jesus, this is a post from April. How did you find it? 😁

hahaha just in your second line from your blog hehe that white snow wall caught my attention!

I have been reading the newbie guide and it is helping me deeply. I now know my left and right here to a point. Thank you so much