Finnish Maiden

in #photography4 years ago

5E478138E55A4A3B94C3574C5EC9C0FE.jpeg

This shot of me is a group effort. It’s taken with my camera, by my school mate, I had just taken a pic of her with the same setup, but the light and settings were mostly dictated by our teacher. It’s cool to be taught by someone with so much knowledge and experience that they can just recite the values you need without any light meters or looking at the pictures from the camera screen. Then you just punch in the numbers and witness something magical happen.

It’s fast pace and while you only have the capacity to injest a fraction of it at a time, it’s really useful. I’m so new to using artificial light that I have no idea what I’m doing with it. I’m only starting to see that it might actually not be that ugly, but I’m not a full convert yet.

The list of wants and needs for photography gear did get a new addition after today, a Profoto flash and a huge umbrella. Costing well over 2000€. Oh, and I need a big studio in an old warehouse with magnificent windows. And a car to go to said studio or to gigs. Why did I not pick a cheaper hobby/profession, something like writing.

Sort:  

Damn. Did you see the first videos of the new Sony A7S iii? Ridiculous.

Mirrorless doesn’t really turn me on so I don’t much follow the news on those 😅 My school mates are drooling over all the new mirrorless systems, I’m more consentrated on learning to actually shoot 😝

Sometimes I leave long comments and other times not...This is an other times comment. So...

Legit.

[End]

Thanks. I'm not much of a fan of this kind of lighting myself, and any true pro would say this is suuuuper tacky.

Clearly I'm not a pro.

The more you learn, the more you see.

I haven't learned anything about photography in my 50 years on the planet, it's unlikely I will now. I never judge photography by a set of rules thought up by others...If something feels good, looks good, from my uninitiated viewpoint, then it is good, no matter what others may say.

The last paragraph!

Right!? 😅

Back when I was in college I had access to soooo much stuff in all the art dept. I would go around 11:00 at night and all the printmaking buildings... everything was open 24/7 it was like being a kid in a candy store