Photography is the Fastest Way to Make Money

in #photography4 years ago

evelontoo.jpeg

1/125th of a second to snap a photo, sell it for thousands, BOOM!


1/125 second is a very normal shutter speed for a photo, but I often use speeds less than 1/400 sec, and you can go all the way down to 1/8000 sec on a sunny day. Think how fast that is!

One click, a fraction of a second, and then you can sell that photo for pennies, cents, euros, thousands of dollars, all the way to millions even if you get real lucky. You can sell the rights to use a photo, from a stock site, thousands and thousands of times over and make a little more every time, passively. You can also sell prints, making money off of the same photo, thousand times over again.

Think of professions where you can make a lot of money, like a stupid amount of money; NHL players, NBA players, Formula 1 drivers money. They make thousands in minutes, but as a photographer, you have the potential to make even more in a fraction of a second. I made about 12€ per hour (minus tax) as a chef, so you can only imagine how excited I am about the prospect of doing photography for a living.

This is of course written very much tongue-in-cheek fashion but it’s to highlight a point that photography is a business of catching that fraction of a second moment. In reality most photographers are starving artist.

All the thousands of hours of work you put into learning photography, finding subjects, doing assignments, the endless hours of tweaking pictures on computer, creating your own look, comes down to that fraction of a second that can make your whole career.

All the preparation and practise is put in place for that ability to capture the moment perfectly when/if it represents itself. And the IT moment might never come.

Of course you can increase the possibility of getting that amazing shot by putting yourself into a place where there is a greater chance for you to see something spectacular happen, or you create that moment yourself. I think often a photograph might only gain its value after years and years of it being taken. For example people die and the pictures taken of them instantly become more valuable, at least to the people who were close to them. Some become politicians or rock stars, and the pictures of them taken prior to that gain more interest from the public.

Keep shooting, keep practicing and back up your work!


Picture credit goes to @jeffjagoe who snapped this shot of me when we were exploring London together back in September 2018.

PS. tried to upload this through Steempeak like I usually do but it refuses to do so because of an error saying this contains letters outside Latin1. Usually that means there is either Ä or Ö in the picture name but this time there isn't.

Sort:  

Wow, just in one second. One great photo. I didn't really think about that before. Yeah, gotta put yourself out there. Likewise, Kobe spent many hours for years working on his game. And a lot of people don't make it into the NBA.

As Einstein dixit: time is relative! Hehe how is going your photography course, Eve? Are you learning interesting things??? I'm thinking about doing some photography courses... I think it is more profitable than auto learning aroun the wide web, isn't it? But returnig at the main theme... I don't have TIME!!! he he Regards from the sunny Spain! Näkemiin!

Haven't learned much yet but that's mainly because I've already done photography for so long. I actually think it's more beneficial to learn yourself first, then when you take a course, you know how to ask the right questions to learn more. But if you don't have time, you gotta make it first!

Hi eveuncovered, The information is very interesting, at some point in my life I worked with it and it is fascinating, new people welcome to the world of photography, for the moment I am taking shots in the water if someone would like to see some of my work send message able to encourage me to share some photos. have a good week

I absolutely love your photography. It is so beautiful, for a brief time I thought about going to study photography but decided to switch to literature instead. While it was a hard decision, I could not be happier with my choice. I know you are going to do wonderful things with your photography some day. :)

Thank you so very much! I think if you are interested in anything artistic, just do it, no need to choose one and only do that. Pick up a camera and start learning, I've done photography over 10 years and only started school a month ago :D

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment