Roadtrip North - Floods

in #photography4 years ago

rovaniemi_tulva22.jpg

The original reason why me and dad headed up north for a roadtrip was to see floods. Usually we go flood touristing during the spring in Ostrobothnia region but this year the floods were way up north. Last winter was very snowy in the north, and the rest of us didn't get much at all, so now that all the snow started to melt really fast up north, it flooded the big rivers. Here are just a few shots of the flooding.

Shot with the Nikon D7200 and Sigma 18-35mm f/1.8 and Sigma 50-100mm f/1.8.

rovaniemi_tulva23.jpg

rovaniemi_tulva28.jpg

rovaniemi_tulva26.jpg

rovaniemi_tulva27.jpg

Sort:  

Ahh, I love these pictures! The second picture looks like some kind of witch's hut... you know, the fairytale that it's on chicken's legs. Maybe that's just an Estonian thing though... xD

Huh what, witches and chicken legs, must be an Estonian thing since I’m not familiar with it 😅 and thanks!

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION. theunion.png

I don’t belong to any unions but thanks 😆

😍😍😍😍😍

Quite lovely when it’s not your house that is in the flood zone 😁

Euw yes😊. Hope owner of that house is in better conditions than me. Yes is not a nice situation. But lovely images. It satisfied my eyes. Liked the reflections, blues and greens. I tried to mean.

You got floods in your area? I think nobody cares about an old hovel getting wet but can’t really plant anything on that field, unless it’s rice 😅

let them plant rice

Do the floods cause a lot of damage? Where I come from when it floods people lose their homes, farms and livestock as the flooding is usually very severe. It looks like your flooding there only enhances the beauty of the place.

I think they do cause some damage but I don’t think anyone has lost their home. People certainly have to deal with some level of water damage to their bacements.

Yeah, I figured some damage would occur. Flooding is so terrible.

We have floods and fires here, devastating ones. They sweep across the land and take all with it. I'm not sure I could say which is worse. Both are equally damaging.

Thank you for responding. I appreciate it.