Gymnocalycium Bruchii in bloom

in #photography5 years ago

Just one flower. But it is the first one that this cactus grew for me, so it is very special nevertheless.

Gymnocalycium Brushii



Gymnocalycium Bruchii pink flower 3.jpg

It is suprising how such tiny little cactus can grow such a big flower. The body is about 2 cm across. You can see how it sit in one of those tiny 5 cm pots. And if you look at it from the top, all you see it the flower.


As I am writing this the flower is already spent and last over a week. Which is not bad for a cactus. I took those photos few days ago. Now it is time for growing the green part and the tiny little babies that popped on the sides.



I didn't try to pollinate it... I am not even sure if I can self pollinate those or need another Cactus of this type. I didn't want to do it, cause I knew that the flower will die after and I wanted to enjoy it as long as possible. I will wait though and will not remove whatever is left. Maybe there is some fruit forming :p

Gymnocalycium Bruchii pink flower 1.jpg

Gymnocalycium Bruchii pink flower 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/10, 1/500, ISO100)
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.