Arrival of the 2020 Bison Babes (Original Photography)

in #photography4 years ago

Well, it hasn't been as long as I thought it wouuld be. This weekend, I got out to see the bison and the calves are here! On Sunday, they were fairly close to the road, but hard to get a good photo of. Eventually, one of the calves and its mother ventured into the large puddle for a drink. It's not the only thing they do in this puddle. Apparently, bison have really good immune systems.

MNM20050120200501EOS_2788.jpg
"This water tastes funny..."

After work this afternoon, I went back and saw the herd moving toward the road. Stationing my vehicle strategically, I got some nice close-ups. They came right up to the Jeep!

The next photo isn't my best work, but it was the only shot that showed the four calves that have been born so far.

MNM20050420200504EOS_2947.jpg
They come in pairs?

This little one got just far enough away from its mother for an individual portrait. It was a rare opportunity. The mothers usually stick very close by or they're hidden by the tall grasses.

MNM20050420200504EOS_2972.jpg
Definitely up to something...

My friends in Spain celebrated Mother's Day last weekend and it will be celebrated next Sunday here in the USA. I think these two wanted to provide the perfect photo for the occasion!

MNM20050420200504EOS_2967.jpg
"Mommy and Me"

As for life, I'm holding in there. Listening to the radio has almost become comical. People are complaining about loneliness and lack of human touch and how it's affecting their mental state. Being basically socially isolated for the last decade of my life, I really haven't noticed the difference. Maybe I'm just numb to it by now.

Work continues to be stressful, as it's the busy period. The work load has been further increased by all the hoops we need to jump through to do our jobs in the current situation. Still, I have work and am grateful for it.

It is a little irksome that even the minimum unemployment would pay more than I am making while working, though. At least I am doing my part to keep this ship afloat.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Hive Revolution - Call for missions
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!