Flowers At Last! (Original Photography)

in #photography4 years ago

Hello,

It's been awhile. With all that has happened in my home state of Minnesota over the last week, it is tempting to weigh in on the situation... but that's not what I'm here for.

MNM20051520200515EOS_3178.jpg
Tulip Privates

The tulips didn't last long. They were done blooming in less than a week. Fortunately, I had time to get out and grab a few macro photos on breaks or after work.

MNM20051520200515EOS_3192.jpg
Socially Distanced Bug

This photo is from a couple weeks back. It was the first non-mosquito insect I saw this year. It was already getting late in the day and my old Canon 7D struggles with low light, so I was a bit surprised to see how well it came out.

As for the old 7D, stay tuned...

MNM20052120200521EOS_3404.jpg
Just Dandy

Dandelions are not my favorite flowers, but they do have a certain charm. With the right lighting and a good macro lens, even the ones at the end of their blooming cycle can become interesting subjects.

MNM20053120200531EOS_3724.jpg
Flower For One

This little butterfly is the first I've been able to capture, this summer. It was feasting on these tiny flowers. With the breeze and butterfly's movements making the flower bend and twist, getting focus just right was a trick!

MNM20052920200529EOS_3670.jpg
Mini Air Force

These appear to be some sort of gnats. Aside from getting in hair and landing on skin, they were relatively harmless. The same cannot be said for the few dozen mosquitos following me around.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Great to see you back and always love your photos! Are you still working through all of this? Do you have the Antifa protest in your city? What about the weather there? It's still fairly cool here in Northern BC, Canada.

Thanks, Sam! My photos are about to get a lot better, at least quality-wise!

I'm not sure about Antifa. We have protests over the murder of George Floyd, which happened in my state's largest city.

Still cool in BC? That would be nice! We had a heat wave come through last week and hit 93ºF (about 34ºC) with humidity. It's cooled back off a bit, but still warmer than I'd like. Maybe the heat will churn up some impressive thunderstorms...

Have you been playing with the Canon 5D much? Any more photos of the eagle-feeding?

Darn, I missed your reply. I haven't done anything with my 5D sadly enough. With my business, we got even busier with the lockdown because of take out and deliveries. We've had nothing but cool weather, basically 64 F every day with rain, so I've just been working on other business ventures.

Sounds lovely, minus the rain. Your camera is weather sealed, though!

I've wanted to start a business for awhile, but couldn't figure out where to begin. I'm thinking a personal Spanish translator and photographer for tourists in Spanish speaking countries would be a hard sell...

Might be, but in the meantime, you just have to think outside the box, meaning look for being a translator for perhaps an airline in business class? Translator for the government? In Canada, more and more you have to apply online. You just need to meet the right person.
My step-son felt he made a big mistake taking the extra schooling to become an engineer (added student loans) needless to say he isn't having much luck finding a job as an engineer, but someone told him to look for quality control jobs (same thing) hopefully that will work for him.

Some great shots. I bought a macro lens yesterday and am excited to explore the world at this level.

Thanks!

Macro lenses are fun. My camera's focusing system makes it tricky, but the results can be pretty spectacular. I bet your area has some fascinating tiny creatures to capture, too!

All your photos are excellent, as always. I really love the dandelion photo, too. It's so good to see a post from you!

What happened in Minneapolis could and has happened in every city in this country. This time, finally, people are outraged.

Thanks! The Dandelions were a lot of fun, but hard to get the focus to hit. The new camera is much easier in that regard so, if I see some more in good lighting, I may see what I can do with them.

Have fun playing with your new toy! 😃

Manually curated by blacklux 💡 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!