Getting Out Anyway (Original Photography)

in #photography4 years ago

Howdy,

We are living through strange times, with COVID-19 keeping us isolated and the mass unemployment that it has caused. Still, i have managed time to get out and take photos. One thing about living in a rural area is that there is no restriction on being out to enjoy the scenery. Even the state park is open for visitors, although it can be hard to keep your distance on the trails, during peak hours.

MNM20032120200321EOS_16602.jpg
Army of Trees

After a day working remotely, heading down the back roads to see what there is to see is relaxing. Sometimes I even find something new, when I take a random turn or intentionally get lost for awhile.

MNM20032620200326EOS_1790.jpg
Some Renovation Required

This little barn was one of those turns. I wouldn't be able to find it again, but it made for a nice photo. The single power line is a tad distracting, but there wasn't much to be done about it.

MNM20032620200326EOS_1788.jpg
Obligatory "Road" Photo

As for the state park, I have spent an increasing amount of time there. I would have liked to visit today, but my little corner of Minnesota is being hit with rain and lightning at the moment.

MNM20032420200324EOS_1764.jpg
Post-Apocalyptic Food

Tuesday, I headed there after work. It was overcast and already late, but I walked around the entire perimeter of the bison enclosure. The bison were bedded down, but the deer were very active. They even posed for a photo!

MNM20032220200322EOS_1692.jpg
Poorly Designed Spaceship

This old mill lost its blades long ago. It sits atop a hill at the edge of the bison enclosure and has been here long enough to "remember" the last pandemic to come through.

In retrospect, this is a strange assortment of photos. Oh well! This last one was also taken in Minneopa State Park on Tuesday. The lighting was tricky, but I managed to get a sharp image of this little "house." Whatever critter is inside must have heard the news. They certainly haven't gone out in awhile!

MNM20032220200322EOS_1733.jpg

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

You made it to Hive!!! Congrats ! Thanks for the chuckle, love your humor with the food pic!

Beautiful scenes! Love the title of the deer photo. That old field stone mill is quite incredible and that's a really great photo of it. Stay safe.

Thanks! You stay safe, too!

Howdy sir fotosdenada! I think this is a wonderful selection of shots. They're all great but I especially like the old barn. But the old mill is also a great one. lol.
What about your job, are you able to do it at home?

Thanks.

I can do quite a bit working from home, but there are still things I need to go into the office for. That's no longer an option, so they're just not getting done. At least I can still do the majority of the work, though! Work has been really busy, too, so maybe it's just as well I can't get to them for now.

How are things in TX?

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Well that is great news that you can still work at home. And it keeps you busy so you don't get bored, that's a blessing to keep the income coming in.

We're like everyone else I think, stay at home orders except for essential work and businesses. Since we live in the country it doesn't really affect us but Mrs. J. works at the county jail so she still has to go in to work.

Do you think you'll get so used to working at home that you won't feel like going to the office when this thing is over?

Oh, I'm rarely bored any more. If I weren't working, I'd be doing photography, drawing, learning new music on the guitar, or something else. I've been unemployed for long stretches in the past and am probably more equipped than most to deal with them. Having an income and some limited social interaction through Skype is certainly a good thin, though.

I'm actually hoping that we will be able to continue to work remotely after this is over, even if we still need to go to the office on occasion. My home office has a window and I can listen to flamenco while sipping coffee and nobody gets annoyed :-)

Going into a jail setting would be a bit worrisome. I hope she and her coworkers and "guests" are being safe!

"I can listen to flamenco while sipping coffee and nobody gets annoyed :-)" lol...yes that would be ideal. I bet alot of companies will find that they can run things in this way.

The jail is troublesome because they aren't taking enough precautions. For instance, no one is being tested. All the guards should have the best blood test run on them.