Spring Birds (Original Photography)

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

Hello again,

It has been awhile since my last post. I've been feeling exhausted and uninspired, lately. Still, the birds are singing and spring is most definitely here. This first photo is proof of that!

MNM20041720200417EOS_2440.jpg
Robin. Not the Hood type.

I have managed to get out to the state park and a few other natural areas quite a bit, but there hasn't been much to photograph. I was lucky to find the birds, really. Having a fleible schedule has allowed me to enjoy a little of the warm sunnier days.

MNM20041720200417EOS_2424.jpg
Canada Goose, A.K.A. "Honker"

Last weekend, I headed down to a small lake in the middle of nowhere. I've seen pelicans there before and knew that they were migrating through. It was a surprise to see so many, this year. They were not fond of being photographed and, even as still and patient as I am, it took about an hour to get some decent photos of the. Eventually, they decided to relocate to a calmer part of the lake and I took a few action shots.

MNM20041920200419EOS_2544.jpg
Heck of a Nose Job!

On the way out, I stopped to take photos of a barn. This vulture seemed to be confused as to whether or not I would make a good meal. It circled overhead more than a dozen times! It's not my best photo ever, but the bird was begging for a portrait.

MNM20041920200419EOS_2620.jpg
You dead?

I'm not sure how soon I will be back on to see how the community is doing and post more photos. As I approach my 40th birthday and find myself far from where I'd hoped to be at this point in my life, it has been increasingly difficult to motivate myself to get out.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Your hawk looks suspiciously like a turkey vulture! Maybe he knew you are nearing the ancient age of 40. 🤣 I bet your 40s will be your best decade!
Fantastic bird photos! The action shot of the pelicans is great. I am missing out on so many springtime events by this safe at home stuff, so it's great to see that the natural world is still turning nicely! !Tip

Shows how well my eyes work. It was a vulture. Actually, there were two. That's even better. Last time a vulture was watching me, my truck was gone a couple of weeks later.

It's those splayed feathers on the wing tips that ID them for me.
I had one circling high overhead yesterday, too.

🎁 Hi @fotosdenada! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Travel At Home Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Loading...

Hey baby, I wanna see more photos of your "honkers" ;)

Howdy sir fotosdenada! Forty years old? That's still a kid! lol..you got lots of time but I know what you mean. I've felt that way at many stages of my life and in fact I feel that way right now!

I'm not on here much either, Mrs. J. got tired of me spending all my time here with nothing to show for it so I'm going to start selling books on Amazon.

What has you so exhausted?
Great shots bytheway!

Forty may seem young, but it's starting to feel too late for a family, even if I met the right person today. I'm also basically starting my career and at the low end of the salary spectrum. I'll find a way, though. Maybe I should reconsider seminary school and becoming a crazy hermit monk?

Have things gotten any better for the Mrs. at work? It sounds like it's not just a Texas prison problem. Hopefully, she's finding ways to stay safe.

Howdy today sir fotosdenada! Do monks make any money? lol...I guess they could be paid very little and still be okay since they don't have any expenses, I'm assuming. Have you really thought about that?

Mrs. J's work place has been miraculously free of the virus until one of the idiot officers showed up for work sick, in a classroom setting for special training and infected everyone. He tested positive after he'd exposed everyone and they took the class into the jail for a day so it exposed the entire jail population. Now everyone that took the class is in quarantine so we'll see what happens.

Other than that they haven't had an outbreak among the inmates which is amazing.