Missing the Sunshine

in #photography • 2 years ago

If you have been following me for years, then you know that I get frustrated with the lack of sunshine in the winter here. Here we go again 😀.

January just ended and do you know how many sunny days we had here in Tallinn at least? 4, god damn 4 sunny days. If 4 wasn't bad enough then I failed to see 3 of them because I was working. The last time was about a week and a half ago when it was a beautiful day and went out for a walk to enjoy it.
Okay, there were a couple of mornings when the sun was out but I was driving to work and this does not count lol.

DSC_0061.jpg

It's interesting that when we have partly sunny days, the skies are clear in the morning hours particularly but since I'm a heavy sleeper I never see that time of the day when I have a day off from work, this is of course my own fault.

It's the life of people of northern countries and there is nothing to do about it, except to travel somewhere. I see memories of Florida, I went to 2 years ago and I so wish I was there right now.
Fortunately, daylight time is getting longer fast here and usually, February sees more sunny days than the previous 3 months.

It's not all miserable tho, we have had a pretty nice winter so far, with a good amount of snow and winter storms that I like.

Today was another cloudy day but I wanted to go to the beach and see what are to conditions there, haven't been there for quite a long time. I took my camera with me to take some shots.

DSC_0063.jpg

All the shots you see in this post are taken today, about 1.5 hours ago at the time of writing this post. There weren't many interesting subjects to take shots of really but since I like taking photos and I haven't touched the shutter button often lately then I did what I could.

DSC_0064.jpg


DSC_0065.jpg

The following one might be the most interesting shot I took today. You can see a seascape but do you notice that the sea has 3 different colors, quite cool.

DSC_0067.jpg


DSC_0068.jpg


DSC_0070.jpg


DSC_0072.jpg

I would really love to go out taking shots of the cold, sunny winter day. Let's hope I am able to soon enough!




Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

Bobbing ice in the water looks fascinating, miniature iceberg then swans in following photo who obviously don't appear to mind the cold water.

Hope the sun shines soon for you! Happy February from sunny South Africa. (much too hot right now so love snow/ice photography)

@tipu curate

I hope so too.

Intense heat can also be furstrating, cant do much then. With cold one can put on more clothes but only air conditioner can fix heat.

Extreme heat one hides away, layering clothing you are able to explore for short periods of time. Would still love to live remote in cold climate for a couple of years to know the feeling.

I see you still have a very cold weather in Estonia. Hope you'll get some sun soon.

Not too cold at the moment -5 degrees C, this is quite usual here in the winter. Sometimes it can get up to -25C here.