First Test Shots With My 'New' Sony α7R II

in #photography4 years ago

This last weekend I sold @melodyrussell's camera and decided to do a little upgrading with that money and some of the crypto i've been sitting on for over 2 years! I think it was a good choice and wise investment for us! Guess only time will tell with that one. But i must say from only having this camera for a few days, i'm highly impressed with it!

It's taking a little getting use to as I have only used canon products for many years now but again... this camera is just amazing.

Here's the first with my Sigma Art 50mm

DSC00513.jpg

There was no way I was going to be able to afford all new lenses, so I purchased the Sigma MC-11 adapter. It seems to work decent with all my lenses, but works especially well with the Sigma Art lenses.

A few hours after the camera arrived, the Canon 70-200 2.8 I also ordered arrived. (this thing is a beast)

Here's Miss Kitty again in the window.
DSC00525.jpg

The MC-11 adapter and the 70-200 don't get along 100% of the time but for the quality, I can deal with the minor freak-out's from time to time. (it will probably live on the 5Diii most of the time)

Here are a few shots just playing around.

DSC00542.jpg

DSC00551.jpg

DSC00572.jpg

DSC00687.jpg

Last night we had a pretty amazing sunset and I just had to see what this thing would do with my Canon 17-40 f/4L!! All I have to say is the dynamic range on this Sony is absolutely AMAZING

Here are a few of my favorite shots from last nights sunset.

DSC00770.jpg

DSC00788.jpg

DSC00784.jpg

Like I said the Dynamic Range of this camera is just 100% awesome!!! I've taken this same type of photo with all 4 of the 5D series camera's and this thing beats them all in the details left in the shadows all day every day!

I'm 100% happy with the purchase and i'm excited about taking photographs again so stay tuned!!

Thanks for checkin' it out!

Sort:  

some of the crypto i've been sitting on for over 2 years!

I don't even want to think about how much BTC I traded for my oversized Nikon that I never use, back in 2016. I was considering a Nikon full frame SLR vs the Sony a7S II but was skeptical about the mirrorless system. I could trade the Nikon and lenses in for a Sony still, but it looks like the a7S II has held its value a little better!

Based on your shots, I'd say there's no problem at all with mirrorless.

Yeah, i'm hoping i don't regret cashing some in, but i'll hopefully be using it alot more than I have been using the Canon that's just been sitting in the case. New shiny toys get me all interested in shooting again!

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

i am playing with an idea of buying canon r6. i kinda hate all that drama with "overheating" and all that wrong marketing, but i am a canon fanboy :D
it would be a huge investment, as all my equipment is probably in the range of r6 price.
had an opportunity last year to use (i think) α7 III with Carl Zeiss Sonnar 35mm. i only used it for video, but it was a weird experience. maybe it is just a learning curve.

Yes, there is a definite learning curve to it but i've picked it up fairly quickly. Apparently the over heating can be worked around with some setting changes... Idk though... I also could never afford the r6 any time soon