Challenge, complete!

in #photography โ€ข 4 years ago

header.jpg

A couple of weeks ago @fotostef thought up a small Photography challenge for people to try if they wanted to. ๐Ÿ˜Š It was a challenge that had five sub-themes:

  • Look closely
  • Look up
  • Look down
  • Change your height
  • Go colorblind

And he briefly introduced it in the following post:
https://peakd.com/photofeed/@fotostef/the-unseen-side-of-my-daily-walk-1-5-look-closely

Today, after a very painful few hours of homeschooling a child who refuses the very thought of Home and School being the same place, we took a little time-out outside and I proceeded to at last submit to the issued challenge! ๐Ÿ˜

Look Closely ๐Ÿ•ท๏ธ๐Ÿ•ธ๏ธ


LookClosely.jpg

I looked closely around the courtyard and saw some black specks floating in the air. Upon further investigation I discovered that the black specks were actually ladybugs that had gotten caught in Mr. Spider's Web.

Look Up ๐Ÿฆ


LookUp.jpg

Up on top of our units, every unit has their own TV antenna. Upon one of these ugly things I found a regal magpie perched up on high, surveying his realm. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Look Down ๐Ÿš™


LookDown.jpg

In our once pristine guest parking, now lies a hundred oil splodges from the several hundred bogan cars that passed through in the past five months before our drug dealers at last fled to another property.

They are gone, but memories remain. And I'm STILL trying to get my sleep pattern back on schedule after months of broken sleep.

Change Your Height ๐ŸŒฟ


Height.jpg

This is the one that I really don't feel comfortable with! I can appreciate that changing your height and perspective can do wonders for photography, but I feel awkward and very self-conscious when doing so.

I'm sure that once I get used to actually doing it, and stop caring what other people think, it will become a lot easier. ๐Ÿ™ƒ

I looked around the courtyard and tried to find something interesting close to the ground, I found this little stump from what was once another bottle-brush-bush, and was enchanted by the fresh greenery growing up around it -- it was very quickly decided that it would be my subject and down to the ground I went! ๐Ÿ˜…

Go Colourblind ๐ŸŒน


BottleBrush.jpg

I wasn't so sure about going colourblind as I have no idea how a colourblind person sees things ๐Ÿ™‚ So I went to a website that shows some image examples of how colourblind people see, depending on their type of colourblindness, and then I attempted to edit a photo to portray that vision.

I think my bottlebrush here might be a bit too bright and extravagant, but I like it! It almost looks like something that could grow on an alien world. ๐Ÿ˜

๐ŸŒผ๐ŸŒป๐Ÿ„๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸŒท

And last of all, a photo with my made-up theme...

"Just because" ๐Ÿˆ

Charlie.jpg

๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ธ

ย 

Until next time,


Thank you for stopping by!


ย 

AND DON'T FORGET TO CHECK OUT MAYNIA!!!


๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ธ

ย 


All photos in this post courtesy of @kaelci and a half-dying Nikon D5000 with 55-200mm lens.

Sort: ย 

Well done @kaelci!
Love your shots and your interpretation of "colorblind". My dull mind could only think of black & white :)
And don't feel awkwardly to change your height. Excellent shot, too!

Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜Š

I didn't even think of Black & White! ๐Ÿ˜… But turns out there are many interesting versions of medical colour-blindness. ๐Ÿ™‚ Some people see more blues and yellows, others a washed-out version of 'normal,' and greyscale is one too.

https://www.color-blindness.com/coblis-color-blindness-simulator/

I thought it was interesting!

Wow that simulator is amazing! Thank you for letting me know!

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @nonsowrites and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

I like your interpretation of the Change The Height.
In normal perspective, I wouldn't have thought of this.
Really cool & innovative

Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜Š Getting down to the ground was the only thing I could think of, it's only now a day later I realise that I could've stood on something and looked down at something from very high as well. I could've also have simply knelt instead of getting right to the ground, hahaha!๐Ÿ˜‚

I love the colour blind photo and the first thing that came to mind was that it looked like an alien plant. Got my imagination going. The final one of Charlie the cat is cute. I love how hes looking out the window and checking out the Gerber daisies. He's a good cat. You have a lot of talent with your photography.

Charlie kept knocking over those daisies, deliberately. ๐Ÿ˜…

The colourblind photo and the little ladybugs caught in the web are my favourites!

Yeah but hes a handsome cat so he gets a pass. I like the flowers there. You should keep flowers there more often. I should hire you to do fancy artwork for my scifi writings. I need lots of purple and violet coloured plants.

Wow those pictures where very beautiful and interesting @kaelci, and I especially like that one where you change your height, the contrast between the stump and last years leaves to the new and sprouting greenery looks amazing, thanks for sharing, it's awesome.



Made in Canva


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Highlights in category Photography, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 4 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in today's Awesome Daily Curation report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Hive ecosystem by rewarding it".


Source

Thank you! I was really happy with that little stump -- I had no idea it was even there until I really started looking and I took so many photos of it. ๐Ÿ˜… This photo, apart from not being completely in-frame, was perfect!

Thanks @kaelci, and I am sure you have noticed that the things which end up not exactly like we want them ends up being the ones that we really succeed with, and that picture was perfect, stay awesome.

These are awesome pictures! When I did the challenge I went colourblind by going to black and white, but I absolutely love your take on it! Love it!

Thank you! ๐Ÿ˜Š I might've taken "colourblind" a little too literally, haha!! ๐Ÿ˜‚ But I do like the end result. If one day I were to wake up, go outside, and see that growing beside my front door... that'd be amazing.