Getty Sales Through 2020

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

So far my sales on Getty haven't dropped off noticeably during the pandemic. I do have a friend with a similar portfolio with the exception of patterns and graphics. Their sales have had a slump. What seems to be keeping mine going is the graphics, which make up about 50% of my sales.

Here are the images that sold and the months.

February
Stoneography_Feb2020_1770070.jpg

March
Stoneography_Mar2020_8760509.jpg

April
Stoneography_Apr2020_5357284.jpg

May
Stoneography_May2020_4233489.jpg

Averaging about 80-90 sales a month. The Getty Contributor app does provide statistics about how many "views" my images have had over the month. So far there hasn't been a huge correlation between the number of views and sales, however the views for June were a bit lower than usual. I'll have to wait and see if this translate to a drop in sales.

As usual I'm not mentioning the amount of money made from these sales as it doesn't matter. What I make won't reflect what anyone else does or could make selling images on Getty. One thing I will mention because it surprises me, is that a VERY basic pattern I made has brought in over $500 USD in the past year. If all my images did that I'd be very happy indeed 😂


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

my friend , I wish you plenty of earnings. you deserve it. You are very succecsful photographer

Thank you! Much appreciated!

Cool to see the info. Thanks.

Do you have a stock portfolio?

I did but I have taken it down from Getty as I am in the process of moving to Stocksy

Is that a difficult process? Does Getty keep the ones on there for a time? Is the Stocksy application difficult?

It's not difficult; but I think they take 8 weeks to take them down.

Stocksy have just simplified their application so it's not as time consuming as it was. I was rejected several times over the past few years but I went with a different style in the application this time and got though. Being a Coop they keep it super tight.

I did find Stocksy had a certain feel to it that didn't match my style. And I was doing ok on Getty so I figured there was no point in switching.
I'd be interested to hear how you go with Stocksy though

Yes but apparently they are shifting slightly from the desaturated PNW vibes look as the market is moving on a bit. It took me about 4 applications to get in. I am yet to see how many of my shots they accept but basically moving forward I am going to flood it with drone shots of tropical islands lol

Congratulations @kieranstone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!