You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian Rockies: The road to Lake Louise, A dirty hidden history?

in #photography5 years ago

My grampa either never wanted to talk about it, it really affected him especially seeing the camps, he was young too. He talked about it a little bit during a school assignment I had but I'm sure he kept the worst for himself. I don't blame them, you can't really un-know this stuff and it's hard for any human being to handle. Now that I have seen pictures, it must have been overwhelming.

Sort:  

I am sure it must have been so overwhelming and know fir certain some things one can never forget i do have one period of work where I saw things that I will never forget as much as I would like it’s not like the memories are always there but they just flash back so vivid from random triggers.

My wife says she knows when I have them as my whole expression changes and I remember thinking that with my dad.

But thinking more positive one advantage of having seen bad it makes one really appreciate the good and how fortunate one is

Have a great day and weekend