The Time The Sea Was Turned Into Diamonds

in #photography4 years ago

Waves of Glistening Sunlight

We're back again at Macqueripe, this time, the weather was a bit erratic. The wind and weather was just fine but for some reason, the waves were really high and a bit violent. Not to the point of not being able to bathe in but to an extent that it was somewhat of a spectacle. Needless to say, the pictures that I got were amazing! Normally, because it is situated in a bay, the beach is very calm and waves are calm and relaxing. When these pictures were taken on the other hand, the waters were extremely "explosive" if you will.

DSC_0010.jpg

I found myself at the front of the protective wall in a precarious situation. I had my trusty DSLR and and whatever I saw was through the viewfinder of the camera. I must admit that this was very dangerous but as a photographer, sometimes you find yourself in situations like these without thinking! I managed to get some good shots before I realized that the water was getting bigger and heading straight for me! That was the fastest I've probably ever ran in my life! I managed to narrowly escape being swept away or totally soaked by the wave though, due to some nearby stairs that aided my escape!

DSC_0028.jpg

I decided not to return to the front of the wall because I managed to get a few good shots and my heart could probably not handle any more narrow escapes (if I ever was to be lucky as such the second time anyway!). Heading up the stairs I could actually capture the water as it rose past the wall and hit the trees. It was such a spectacular sight as the sun was beginning to set and the light caused the water droplets to sparkle and glisten like a millions diamonds. It was fun to imagine the sea being made of precious gems, an infinite expanse of beauty.

DSC_0032.jpg

I was so caught up in the viewfinder of my camera that I did not notice, until a while after, that a guy was in my shot. He came after I lined up my shot and poked his head over the wall to see the beads of glistening water as it splashed up the wall. I initially fount his to be rude but the photos I got of him became the my favorites of the set! I felt like I captured something so human. The curiosity, wonder and awe of nature that makes us so human was frozen in time. I could not help but find it so captivating and interesting. You can't see his face but you can still, for some reason, see and feel his fascination and appreciation of the phenomenon.

Truly Amazing

DSC_0018.jpg

I had not seen Macqueripe like this in my life. I was glad to have captured the moments I did in the times that I did. We may never see it like this again for years to come. The conditions were just right! The waves, the sunlight accentuating them and the spark of humanity to appreciate it all. Thanks a lot for reading! I hope you guys enjoyed the photos, Cheers!

BANNAHMAN.jpg