I've been in Texas... and was tough

in #photography2 years ago

Once upon a time i used to travel around the world. My life was constantly on the road. No point of reference, all of my precious stuff in a luggage, plenty of bumper stickers on my suitcase and an entire world to explore.

It was like being on on airplane all the time, my world was build on experiences, contact, connections. I speak 4 languages and i never had a problem to communicate with my "peers"

I practically travelled for my entire life.

I was born in Pompei, from my window every morning in winter, i used to admire the majesty of the Vesuvio... smell the perfume of brooms-flower... and get in connection with my inner soul..i was feeling safe.. pampered by this "ancient little town" it was the perfect place.
It was the place i always wanna to live.. but as we know.. life is funny...

So at the age of eleven years old i left my place to move to Milan...

Even tough i had to deal with the racism and poverty of spirit of the Milanese-people (only interested in making money) my soul was still feeling at home. Then something switched in my little crazy brain.. i realize that there was an entire world to discover.. the scary differences became to me like an open book to read.... different cuisine, different flavors, different music, different traditions.. and all of these amazing discoveries where right in my hands... i just need to find a bit of courage, jump on an airplane and move to the next town, and that's what i did.

scavi_pompei_4.jpg

Pandemic and travel

I've been pretty much every where except for Australia... in USA i covered in 6 months over 35 states. Was working for the New York City Opera as a "photographer"
Amazing experiences, more over I liked the idea to keep tracks of all the places God gave me the opportunity to see.
A kind of photographic diary of my "emotions".. of my inner feeling.
At the time music was not as important as today, it was an "optional" in fact the main "tool" i used to describe my newly discovered environment was "photography"

robert_johnson.jpg

I felt like a sponge in an ocean... it was too much, but the world was asking me to take notes of everything and so I did it.

Traveling from Norway to Bahamas in a matter of months to come back in Italy to find out that "Milan was not my "house" any more"

f13238976.jpg

sandy_beach_exuma.jpg

Spend the whole night at 4000 meters up on the see level to document the covering of an entire glacier and the day after get a train to come back to Como for a little rest in my "so-called-home"

wwfandermatt_a.jpg

menaggio.jpg

After the recent facts (pandemic) this world changed... it's more difficult to travel, more difficult to communicate and more difficult to "socialize" besides I m a "fucking ASPIE" my brain is not linked to my body, but all over, is not at all linked to reality. For me reality is a dream where i can be free to dance.

Let's get to the point.

After the pandemic i spent almost 2 years completely "trapped" in Cislago, another little village from the "Como-belt"

cuore_cislago.jpg

I made new friends, i learned new habits and i found a kind of balance between my "emotional-storms" and my madness.

Every morning i was popping in my mother house for a nice Italian coffee to have a chat with her, to come back home and take care of "Jago" my little doggies-friend.
I learned how to plant potatoes, take care of plants, i started plant anything which could grow... i was feeling happy in my "so-called-normal-life" of a "provincial-Italian-man"

Unfortunately my mother passed away the first of January and in the mean time my daughter had a little girl... so what to do.. cry or be happy... It was the perfect "emotional-storm" and in order for this life to make thing more complicated, my son in law had to go in deployment and i was kind of "obliges" to travel earlier then i planned.

The perfect nightmare

So you have to imagine to spent 2 years without going to a restaurant, two years living like a farmer, growing potatoes and taking care of the animals, and all of the sudden find yourself on a plain heading to Texas...

WOW man.. an explosion in my brain.

wolf_1.jpg

In these years or "tranquillity" i smoked a lot of "marijuana" my body was used to the "stone" i started playing guitar in a professional way, i won two competitions - included SanRemoRock (iconic in Italy)-

I had my guitar.. my friend "the dog" and my wife.. cooking everyday and smoking grass like a guru.

jago_on_the_beach.jpg

So here I'm, all of the sudden, at 10.000 meters over the planet to go to Texas.

I felt so bad, even thought i was going to my daughter's house to meet for the first time my niece Daphne, my hearth was in pieces.

My mother was gone an all of my habits as well. No guitars, no computer to play with, no cup of Irish black tea in the morning, no cigarettes and no "grass".
Damn.. has been tough.. in fact i had a huge crises.
capelli_2020.jpg

My brain lost control and all my certainties which vanished in thin air... I found my self in the middle of a "high-blood-pressure-crises" under stress, and full of fears... the only way out was taking pictures again, but the inputs where a lot to handle for an old man.. so i choose to use my cellphone and connect to the environment in a "grand" way... i start using the "panorama-effect" and this is the result of my trip which have been a real "inner-psychological-voyage"

My niece Daphne

IMG_20220123_110119.jpg

THE TRIP

IMG_20220112_161539.jpg

Schertz -San Antonio Texas

IMG_20220114_150740.jpg

IMG_20220114_150816.jpg

IMG_20220114_150852.jpg

Botanic garden San Antonio - Texas

IMG_20220114_151200.jpg

IMG_20220114_151345.jpg

IMG_20220114_154059.jpg

Botanic garden San Antonio - Texas

IMG_20220119_130134.jpg

IMG_20220119_130315.jpg

IMG_20220119_132001.jpg

New Braunfels - San Antonio Texas

IMG_20220122_133359.jpg

IMG_20220122_132718.jpg

IMG_20220122_120454.jpg

IMG_20220122_121617.jpg

Pearl San Antonio - Texas

All picture made by Mario Marco Farinato

mmfarinato.com

Sort:  

Congratulations @mfarinato! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 400 posts.
Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 5
Hive Power Up Month challenge - Feedback from February day 3
Our Hive Power delegations to the last Power Up Month challenge Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!