Bad Memories: An old Barcelona street on 35mm film

in #photography4 years ago

10420022.JPG

This used to be one of my favourite photographs. I loved the way the shadows work around the light that enters through the top of the image, the darkness that surrounds and the film grain that adds to the emotion within. There are two versions of this image, one I'll definitely never post, and will be deleting.

At the time, I remember exposing this image, shot on 35mm Kodak Colorplus 200 film, incorrectly. I had the camera set to 400 ASA film stock, which I wasn't using. This meant the measurements were actually incorrect and the shutter speed and aperture were a few stops off.

I noticed almost immediately after, but I gambled and assumed the image would still be okay. Well, in the end it came out beautifully, even with that incorrect light adjustment. Since I shot with my Canon AE-1, there was no real indication that anything was wrong. With 35mm film cameras, often enough, it's an entirely manual process. Any mistakes are entirely on you.

While I have some friends that suggest I visit them again in Barcelona despite recent events and the virus, I'm not so sure I could ever go back. It simply wouldn't be the same.

I remember walking down that street, feeling stronger than ever. I felt invincible, happy, and that my life finally had meaning and that I knew exactly what I wanted and how to obtain it. It's funny how some chemical changes within your body can have you feeling like the world is within your hands, that you're not just along for the ride but actually in control of the ride itself. As if the speed at which you're travelling and how you're travelling is something within your grasp, that can be changed and manipulated with ease.

The truth is: none of us are in control.

Sort:  

Using an analog camera gives its own impression. The manual operation makes us feel like mastering light in nature. Nice shot my friend :)

Nice shot! 😎

There are two versions of this image, one I'll definitely never post, and will be deleting.

I wonder why... 🤔
Nevermind, I'let you keep your secret.

While I have some friends that suggest I visit them again in Barcelona despite recent events and the virus, I'm not so sure I could ever go back.

Yeah, Barcelona is a hot coronavirus spot. It doesn't look like a good idea going there right now. 😐

Let's hope this mess goes away soon enough.

Things will get better. Hang in there.