Photographic Composition 101 - The Rule Of Thirds

in #photography2 years ago

th (1).jfif
Rule of thirds grid pattern...

Attempting to not be boring...

Yesterday, I posted about how I am currently in a rehab facility that fortunately allows me access to a computer in between groups. One problem with this is I have no access to original photography for posts, and another is, the subject matter is a little bland. When I first started blogging on Steemit back in the far past, I was in a transitional housing program and basically all I had to write about at the time was recovery, so I did. In an attempt to not redo the past, I am trying something new and writing about things I actually went to school for when I was in that program, and something I now have a bachelors degree in - Digital Media Creation!

The Rule Of Thirds!

If you are are beginning photographer, you may be unaware of the "Rule of Thirds." Basically, the "rule" is a guideline for framing and editing not only photos, but also paintings, and even film scenes! To say it is helpful is an understatement. After I learned this rule, I noticed that when I frame my photos before even taking them, I attempt to use the rule as best I can. Of course, some adjustment can be made in editing, but getting the right shot in the first place is always best, and helpful to cut down editing time.

So What Is It?

As you can see in the above photo, if you parse your view finder into nine equal sections, you will have meeting points where they connect, represented by the blue dots. The idea is to put your "focal point" or main subject of the image on one of these points, and if you do, it will have the most visual appeal to the eye. This theory is not new by far, and actually dates to John Thomas Smith in 1797 as the first mention. Looking deeper, you can see that the rule is also related to the Fibonacci Sequence, as seen by this image...

th (2).jfif

Try It Yourself!

If you have not used the Rule of Thirds in your art, might I suggest you give it a try? As you can see from the unknown Creative Commons photo below, there are all kinds of ways to use this technique to improve your art. Using this with the proper color temperature, which I will discuss tomorrow, can really make your artwork pop!

th.jfif

As Always, Thank You For Reading!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.