"Painful Regrets"

DSC04009.jpg


And I guess I'll keep standing
Keep trying to get back on my feet
No one told me that life was gonna throw these small punches
We sharpen ourselves I suppose

I get thrown and I brush off the dust and once again,
I stand defiant
I'll never be crippled again
This will be my last worst

The more I know the more I fear
As today becomes tomorrow
I thought I had seen too much
But I always have to find out sooner or later
What's held in store for me

Some days are bad, and some days are worse
It all could have been worse tonight
Hey, I'll take it, cause it ain't over yet

The future remains the same
The more I know the more I fear
It might happen to me in the nearness of their future so near

In wake up in nightmares plagued by regret
So often memories are painful to recall
But with each new “worst” it's worth it more than the last
In hopes that somewhere there we'll find a ray of light.

~*~